Learn about floral art and help with general garden tasks in rural Kilkenny, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 167 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Workawayers,
    We would love somebody to come and help us who has a passion for outdoor life and gardening particularly.
    We have an old farm house,a farm and large country garden.Very quiet rural area up a long avenue with lots of trees and fields to explore.
    I grow some plants for sale and also teach floral art and basic gardening.
    I am working on new areas in the garden but need weeding,grass cutting,planting and dividing herbaceous plants.Planting bulbs and creating a wildlife area.
    We have three Border Collie dogs and five farm cats, bees and 2 Geese who eat the grass in the orchard.We are fully vaccinated for Covid.We would prefer if people already in Ireland could come to help.
    This is not a paid position.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will have an opportunity to come to a rural quiet farm in Co ,Kilkenny 8 km from the city of Kilkenny and 4km from local village of Freshford.
    While with us we hope you can join in and partake in what is going on on a daily basis.
    I teach basic Gardening and Floral Art in a Classroom here at the House but due to Covid this has been through Video and Zoom hopefully normal hands on classes will begin in the autumn.

  • Help

    Help

    A passion for outdoor tasks, helping to maintain a large country garden. I would love to have somebody who likes cooking and I can learn new recipes from their country.

    Help will mainly include weeding,potting plants ,grass cutting. I would like to make a new heather and conifer bed and fern area this Autumn /Winter.
    Every day there are new things happening so it’s always changing.

    I need somebody who is strong as there is lots of manual work to doin the Garden and the weather might not be very nice in Ireland in the Winter.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an Old Farm House and Workawayers can have use of a double room or a room with two single beds.
    Workawayers will have to use the shared family bathroom.
    Workawayers will have use of family kitchen and there will always be food in the fridge and freezer.Shops are not too far away.
    Some days I am away teaching and meal times can vary but there will always be food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kilkenny City and Freshford village are in easy reach.Pubs,Restaurants will hopefully be open soon as COVID restrictions are lifted.
    There is good night life venues,Galleries,Historic Buildings to visit in Kilkenny City.
    Locally we have Jenkinstown wood to explore.
    Bicycles can be hired locally.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space for camper vans to park.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day Monday -Friday weekends free.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 535327655145