updated   Last minute

Tutoring English and cultural exchange in the beautiful mountains of Ocotepeque, Honduras

  • Favourited 171 times
  • Last activity: 18 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    My name is Carol Im from Honduras , and here we are offering an opportunity for you to stay in our family home and teach English
    ( Age: from 6 to adults) in small groups at our 'In English, Please!' English club. We're seeking English-speaking volunteers from around the world to join our vibrant community.

    There is flexibility in what you want to teach - and you're welcome to be as creative as you like, this is encouraged!

    As well as teaching help, computer assistance would be great! Keeping my schedule up to date is really important! This will involve liaising with future volunteers and organisation of student resources.
    Talk about caring for the environment to the students is important and you can do a small project with them.

    On weekends, I love to hike early mornings in the the surrounding mountains. We have some really beautiful views. Ocotepeque is at the border of El Salvador and Guatemala, so it's really easy to continue your travels from here. Whilst Ocotepeque is a small town, it has everything you will need here: shops, parks, gym, movie theatre, restaurants, and street food! I like to go to the gym in the mornings and can help you get a membership for your stay too if you're interested.


    Look forward to hearing from you!

    Carol

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying in Ocotepeque is an opportunity to experience a rural Honduran town with fruits and vegetables markets everyday . There are many opportunities to talk to locals and practice spanish with me. Ocotepeque is a safe place where everyone knows everyone!
    Good weather.

    Before you leave we teach you how to cook some Honduran food and I would love if you can show me a new dish!
    Please dont forget to write the recipe in a book for us.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Most students in the intermediate class have their own books and the teacher will have a guide to follow the lesson and unit. For the advanced class, lessons are more flexible. You can use Youtube videos and teach them about yourself and what you’re interested in. Try to be a little creative to offer interesting classes, art projects,dialogue,conversations,oratory,speach too.

    You will only teach 3 Days Monday – Wednesday. As this project and club grows, we hope to expand in the future. I am a qualified teacher and have been teaching for a few years. I am always there to help and support you when you need.

    Monday – Wednesday
    • Computer help/work with volunteer calendar.
    • walk with Gloria or Carol
    • Lunchtime (ish)
    • Lesson preparation
    • Teach Advanced class (1 Hour each class)
    • Teach Intermediate class (1 hour. each class)
    • Free time walk Canela around our dog.

    Thursday – Friday
    • Computer help/work with volunteer calendar and the English curriculum program.
    • walk with Gloria or Carol
    • Lunchtime
    • Afternoon: Computer help/helping around the house/talking with family/walking/learning Spanish
    • Free time walk Candela around our dog.

    Saturday – Sunday
    . Travel out of Ocotepeque,Gracias Lempira,Copan Ruinas,Lago de Yojoa,La Palma and more.
    • Days off/ Hiking
    . Free days.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am happy to teach you Spanish and you can help me with my English or French too!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private bedroom at the family home. Please always keep areas you use in the house clean.
    There is a laundry machine you can use also a kitchen where you will cook your own food.

    * I offer one meal ( Lunch )5 days a week (Monday - Friday). You can expect typical Honduran food such as: pasta, salad, rice, tortillas, beans, quesillo, eggs, chicken, sopa de gallina,taquitos,enchiladas,burritos,vegetables,soups.


    *There is always free coffee from Honduras and water available for you in the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My name is Carol, I am the only other teacher at the English Club: ‘In English, Please!

    I really want to do more exercise and have loved going on walks and hikes with previous volunteers. We have so many beautiful mountains with easy access to Guatemala and El Salvador. You will have fun here and it would be an amazing cultural experience for sure!

    Ocotepeque is a safe and quiet town located around a 10 minute drive from the El Salvador border, and around 25 minutes from the Guatemala border. There are many tourist attractions in the area which volunteers often travel to, including the Mayan ruins at Copan, the famous church at Esquipulas, Guatemala, the Pacific coast of El Salvador, Bay Island, Roatan, Utila and more.

    The nearest airport is in San Salvador, El Salvador. From here, you need to get to a small town called 'El Poy'. There are buses there that will then take you to the Honduran border.
    Ordinary Route 119: runs from San Salvador to the El Poy border (San Salvador-Honduras). It costs $1.70. It leaves at 4:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. every half hour approximately.


    From San Pedro, there are regular buses – including the Sultana and Congolon. Make sure you tell the company you are going to Ocotepeque and NOT the border.

    From Guatemala, you will need to get the 'Rutas Orientales'. This route goes throgh a small town called Esquipulas. From there, you can easily get to the border of Honduras and then to Ocotepeque.

    Once you have confirmed your place I can send you the google maps location.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi. I need computer help and I would love to talk about making some videos or helping me with social media to help advertise this project.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day, 5 days per week.

Host ref number: 19651867994d

Feedback (27)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.6)

































Help with an organic garden and build community in San Juancito, Honduras