Help us get settled in our new community on Mors, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 269 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We moved in with our extended family and are working to establish the "village that went missing". We want to produce food for the local community and show that a sustainable life is possible 💚

    I am Signe, 33 (your main host) permaculturist and unschooler.

    I live with my ex husband, our 2 children, my parents, my brother and his girlfriend + a good friend. In time we would like another family to live here, but for now we need to get settled.
    We have 3 dogs, 12 hens and we're planning on more livestock in the future.

    We bought and moved into an old school, so there is quite a lot of maintenance and we hope to find volunteers that can help out with that.
    You get to learn plenty of permaculture and we hope you'll take it with you wherever you go from here💚

    For relaxation we enjoy board games, music, nature walks, good food and dinner conversation.

    We need you to speak a functional English. Otherwise we will not get to know each other and that's really important to us.

    It is also essential that you have a reliable nature and can do tasks independently, which includes showing up on time. While we have shared workdays, where everybody works together, most of us have to go to work during the weekdays, so you should be ok to carry out agreed upon tasks independently. We are trying to always host 2 volunteers at a time so that you will always be in good company.

    Also, regarding our plans for this year (see list below) we need people with strength and healthy backs ;) It would be great if you had carpentry experience as well.

    Our oldest son is 10 and he really likes to practice his English along with everything else. The younger one loves to play with everyone who crosses his path, even if there is no shared language.
    The point is, liking children is quite a big deal if you come here.

    We eat together as a community 3 times a week, taking turns with the cooking. We use organic ingredients and provide options for everyone (vegetarian, vegan, omni). We also go dumpster diving when we have the time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I teach permaculture and practice what I preach. We are not self sufficient but join us on the journey.

  • Help

    Help

    If you volunteer with us in 2020 you will be involved with some of the following:

    - tiny house project
    - heavy manual labor (digging holes, secure fences, garden work)
    - tree planting
    - establishing new garden areas (learning about different ways to work with nature)
    - harvesting from the garden
    - foraging
    - cooking and preserving the abundance (fermentation and drying)
    - taking care of the feathered part of the farm
    - making firewood
    - maintenance of the community buildings + cleaning

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room, toilet and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live only 25 min away from Cold Hawaii (Klitmøller) where you can catch the best waves in Europe and meet wonderful people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


















Host ref number: 514744877957