Martine

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/08/2015 - 06/02/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi world! My name is Martine, I'm an enthusiastic 27-year-old who is ready to gain as many new experiences as possible! I grew up in the Netherlands, but after finishing my studies I started a semi-normadic life, living, learning and workawaying in many different countries. I spent the past year or so in the Czech Republic, teaching English at a small but very nice language school... yet I feel it's time for a new adventure now! That is, time to renew my workaway membership. (I'll write some more info here and add some new photos soon)

    Random stuff I love: reading, meditation, writing, drawing, crafts, hiking, visiting new places, learning languages, chatting with friends over a cup of coffee or tea, boardgames (esp. chess and go), and much much more. The environment is very important to me and I try to live and travel as sustainable as possible (hello trains!).

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Language & teaching skills:
    My mother tongue is Dutch, but I also speak English (near-native), Finnish (unfortunately getting rusty from disuse) and Czech (beginner). I love learning a bit of the local language where-ever I go.

    Other skills:
    My family planted a 10ha forest in April 2006. Taking care of the estate is quite a bit of work - but it is also work that I enjoy a lot. I share my father's passion for ecology and forest management, and have tried to learn as much as possible in the past few years that we have seen our trees grow into a beautiful young forest. Taking care of the vegetable garden and gathering berries are also activities that I enjoy. I'd love to learn more about permaculture and self-sufficient living and found workawaying a perfect means for gaining knowledge and experience. I also enjoy spending time with kids and have had a great time workawaying with families.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      im lactose intolerant so i would have to avoid products with a lot of lactose

Photos

at the lakeside
in sweden!
at a nature museum @finland
on holiday in iceland!
at university @finland
our garden @netherlands
the forest at my family's home @netherlands
crochetting @Finland
'all you need is friends and cake!' @Netherlands
photography!

Feedback