Help us fix our house while roaming beautiful Senja, Norway

Country

Norway

new host  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hei hei! My name is Line and after many own Workaway adventures, I am now searching for Workawayers to help me fix the house my partner and I recently bought. We are currently working from home and struggling to keep up with projects on the side.

    If you are interested in living 350km above the Arctic Circle, want to explore stunning nature and try Norwegian cinnamon buns, you are very welcome!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested, we would love to try to arrange some activities together and to show you around in the free time if our schedules allow. This way you won't just get the Norwegian living experience but also learn that Kvikk Lunsj (a certain chocolate) is a necessity for any serious hiking trip.

    We can teach you some words in Norwegian (Bokmål) and how to make our favorite kanelsnurr (cinnamon buns) or proper Norwegian waffles. If you are new to photography, I can give you some advice and maybe even lend you some equipment.

  • Help

    Help

    *in Feb and March I will have less time for instructions or working together, so people who are independent with carpentry projects would be a perfect match! If you are interested, please tell me which projects you think you can do with how much guidance.

    Examples of things that I need help with
    - laying laminate floors
    - exchanging windows (wall will have to be cut)
    - exchanging patio and house doors (wall will have to be cut)
    - tiling
    - installing a second bathroom
    - placing insulation
    - planning new wood constructions concerning safety and stability

    I am looking for someone reliable with attention to detail, who can work on some of those projects independently. It would be great to have Workawayers, who are experienced with carpentry and construction.
    It is not essential to have professional experience in those fields, but it is important to be handy and confident in handling tools.

    Workawayers should speak English or German. Understanding Norwegian is no criterium or advantage.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on availability, we provide a private or shared twin room.

    We normally share breakfast, lunch and dinner and prepare mostly vegetarian food. If we don't have a meal together, you can always use what's there to prepare your own or just take a lunch box to your adventures.

    Apart from the work, Workawayers are expected to contribute to common tasks like preparing meals, shopping groceries and cleaning the common spaces.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From Tromsø, Fjordgård can be reached by car and bus, with and without ferry. The fastest public transport connection takes 1:38h.

    Fjordgård is a small fishing village on Senja, the second largest island in Norway.
    The village is located amidst untouched nature on the west side of the Ørnfjord. It is nestled inbetween the sea and beautiful mountains, and serves as starting point to popular hiking tracks up Segla and Hesten.
    From our house you get stunning views of the surrounding mountains, water and the small island Husøy.

    You have plenty of opportunity to enjoy nature here. You could go swimming, running, hiking, camping or take our hammock and a good book to chill outside with fjord views. Explore some of the popular tracks, visit nearby lakes or the white sand beach in Ersfjord. Maybe pick blueberries or cloudberries on the way. If it's the right season, we will make some traditional snacks with our "hunted" berries.

    Also with the right season, skills and equipment, you can go skiing, snowboarding or snowshoeing!
    The region is also famous for fishing and we can lend you a rod.

    
You can wait for the Northern Lights on our balcony, wrapped in a warm blanket with a hot chocolate. Or light a bonfire for a BBQ in our Grillhytta, where we can enjoy cozy evenings even if it pours outside.
    For inside, we have plenty of games.

    The name of the village, Fjordgård, translates to „fjord farm“. It has a small store and in the season even a pub/ grill. It’s a very beautiful spot, and has lots to offer if you like the outdoors and know how to entertain yourself. You have to understand that to reach the next mall, you will have to drive about 56 km. There are busses, but having a car or driving license will enable you to explore more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Can't guarantee 100% stable connection for streaming etc. all the time. But I work from home too.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The view from our village
the village as seen from the mountain
The village
our house
patio with BBQ hut
Our BBQ hut for rainy days
Host ref number: 483696425242