Come and join our Family life in the tropics, enjoy the food, urban farming and renovations in Darwin, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4, our children are young adults and we have parents living next door. We have 2 cheeky dogs, 6 chickens and loads of fish. Our home is a tropical elevated with a backyard jungle with fruit trees, herbs and vegetables. We are about to do some renovations to the home, so need practical hardworkers. The garden is always evolving and there is always plenty to do there but it can be hot work. We love sharing the cooking and tasting new dishes too!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family of four with my parents living next door. You will become part of our extended family. Experience life in tropical Australia with locals. We live near coastal reserves and the ocean so the natural environment is very accessible. We are close to bike/walking paths and mountain bike tracks if you enjoy getting out and getting physical. Walking/riding distance to the local shopping centre, markets, beach and bus routes.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are needing help around the house - primarily cleaning, cooking, renovation and building, gardening and light maintenance. If you have a particular skill let us know as it may be of use. We ask for four hours a day each in exchange for all meals and accommodation and are happy to be flexible how that is work if you would like to also take some time to explore Darwin and the surrounds. We would also be open to 2 hours work for just accommodation. We are seeking practical hands-on helpers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a cosy airconditioned caravan. Suitable for a couple. We have a beautiful blue pool to cool off in as being the tropics it can get hot.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live near public transport and have bicycles to borrow. Wifi is available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Parking would be on the street but it is a quiet street.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day for food and accomodation or 2 hours for just accomodation





Host ref number: 593394719575