Come help out at our small farm in Telemark, Norway. Farm chores, permaculture gardening, construction, playing with the kids.

Country

Norway

Favourited 171 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living on our small hobby farm on the countryside in beautiful Telemark, Norway. Mom Vibeke, dad Reynaldo and two boys 6 and 10 years old.
    Vibeke is from Northern Norway, and Reynaldo is from Bolivia, so we speak spanish, english and norwegian fluently.
    Reynaldo has experience from building natural homes in two different eco centres in Bolivia, and has a lot of different skills. Vibeke is also very versatile and knows a lot about a lot of things😅

    Reynaldo and the boys practice karate kyokushinkai twice a week. Vibeke knits.

    We have a kitchen garden, and a few animals on the farm, striving for self suffiency and practicing permaculture. A flock of 14 free range hens provide us our eggs, and during summer we usually keep a few pigs, that we slaughter in autumn. We currently have four bee hives aswell, and planning to double it. Next year we are planning to start a regenerative notill market garden.
    We have a small house from 1922 and are currently building a few extra rooms for the house and need help with that, as well as the daily routines of the farm and kitchen garden and general maintenance, like painting the buildings.

    We love our homemade food, and hope you will too. We eat meat/fish every day, and if that is a problem for you, this might not be the right place for you. Vibeke will do most of the cooking, but hopefully you will cook something delicious from your home country.
    Our kids love practising their english and spanish, and are very eager to get to know new people.
    We are very down to earth-people although both our kids were born at home and fullterm breastfed, and we do our Mother Earth fire rituals semi-regularly. We consider ourselves a very normal chaotic family with everything that comes with it.

    Welcome to be a part of our family and help around the farm fun!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a bicultural family, and we love to get to know new people. Here you can learn about small farm work, practise your spanish or norwegian, cold climate gardening, construction building, sourdough baking, foraging, simple living and also we will give you a guided tour of the local area. If you want to try out karate you are also welcome to joing the boys for their training. There are very nice hiking possibilities around the farm, both long and short hikes.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we are building an extension to make our house bigger, and need a little help with that and around the farm doing the daily chores and maintenance. If you have experience with construction you are very welcome, but no need. Also, if you have experience with permaculture gardening (or any kind of gardening) or interest of learning that is a plus but not a requirement. We also need help with cutting fire wood for winter.
    The most important thing: As long as you are kind and respectful, eager to help out and take initiative you are very welcome, no matter your background.

    We are flexible, but hope that you will help around the farm for at least 4-5 hours per day. In the summer months there is generally more things that needs to be done, and more space to roam outside, so we can only host couples/families then.


    So, in short, your tasks might be;
    weeding
    gardening/planting /watering
    harvesting
    helping with construction
    painting buildings outside and inside
    cleaning chicken coop
    feeding animals (chicken, pigs)
    cutting fire wood
    playing with kids
    simple housekeeping/cooking
    general repair
    cleaning and sorting old stuff
    decorating/interiour design
    doing some creative project on your own initiative

    - according to your skills, interests and abilities we will together agree on what you will do when you are here.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, english, spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accomodation will be a guest room in a separate building. You might have to share your room with an other workawayer, in the case of your stay overlapping eachothers.
    We will do our best to make everything as comfortable as possible for you.
    If you are flexible we are also. Please feel free to ask if you have any questions.

    You will be sharing the meals with the family, and we expect you to help with some cleaning and the dishes, as you would in a normal household.
    We eat meat and dairy ( we have a high fat diet, somewhat WAPF-inspired), and we enjoy a beer or wine every once in a while, but not get drunk.
    We can offer unlimited WIFI, with good connection in your private room.


    TO GET HERE
    Most workwayers come here from Oslo. The easiest way to come here is by train, about 3h from Oslo, and the train costs about 300NOK (~30€)
    We pick you up at the train station, it is only ten minutes away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the countryside, so there are beautiful forests, lakes and areas to explore by foot, or you can borrow one of our bikes. It is possible to go skiing in winter. The village centre is 10km away, and if you need anything from the store
    we are happy to give you a lift. The city (Skien/Porsgrunn) is about an hour drive away, and we go weekly if we need to.

    We expect you to:
    - not be smoking in or around the house, not get drunk nor use narcotics.
    - share about yourself and your culture, to take initiative and share a good vibe.
    - have clear communication so that there will be little misunderstandings and so that we can talk about things that is not according to your/our expectations.
    - tell us what we can do to improve our role as workaway hosts.
    - eat whatever is served.


    You need to bring: Clothes according to season, it can be freezing from sept - april. Clothes for working and getting dirty/painting. Waterproof boots.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













Host ref number: 572561434431