updated   Last minute

Help a family with gardening and daily life in Løkken, Denmark

  • Favourited 956 times
  • Last activity: 16 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Update 07.01.2024!


    We are a mature couple who enjoy meeting new people and culturel exchange. We have run our farm as a visiting farm open for tourists for more then 30 years, but now have decided to retier because of our high age and helth problems and put our farm up for sale.
    The farm is closed for visitors now and we have already sold ”big” animals like cows, sheep and pigs but our other sweet animals: ponies, goats, rabbits, hens, ducks, geese, donkeys, dogs, cats and also some guinea pigs and peacocks we would prefer will stay by us until they will be sold together with the whole property, we hope the new owner will have them so they will continue living in their familiar surroundings.
    All our animals are very tame and friendly so if you are an animal lover you will be pleased to meet them.

    We are living in a big house that we renovate now and we have a little nice garden.

    The property is situated in a stunning nature surroundings 6 km north from Løkken and only 1,5 km from the beach.
    There is an unspoiled natur around and sometimes you can see a wild pheasant walk on the lawn or a wild hare jumping in the garden or a deer run across the field.
    This place is a paradise for them who loves nature, seaside, animals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By living with us will you be a part of our family.
    Olga is Russian, she came to Denmark from Leningrad just before the USSR collapse and Ole is Danish so we have knowledge about two different cultures and ways of living. We have both a big life experience, have travelled much and would like to share our experience with others. We are both very interested in learning other cultures and meeting people.
    We can teach you Russian and English and Ole can teach you a little about construction and carpentry ( in renovation of our house) if you are interested and of course you will learn a lot about Denmark, Danish people and countryside while living her.

  • Help

    Help

    Just now we are only looking for help in our private house: cleaning and renovation, housekeeping, maybe sometimes cooking ( just for us), help with gardening in our private garden.
    We want to finish renovation of our house as soon as possible so some experience with renovation/contsruction/carpentry/cleaning would be nice.
    If you stay with us we can arrange that both we and you can cook at times depending on if you like doing it.
    We expect you to help max. 5 hours per day 5 days per week.

    We are looking for open minded, hardworking, engaged, happy people who are polite and smiling, like to make fun and are not afraid for manual work. We like to have a good energy in the house where everyone can be open with ideas and opinions.

    We need volunteers all year around (while we still live here) and we prefer you to stay for a longer period at least one month.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A big cozy room in our private house (sometimes maybe sharing with one another workaawayer), sharing living room/kitchen and bathroom.

    Being a part of a family that consist of us two and our 2 “little children” that also live with us in the house: 2 chihuahua dogs that are really sweet
    All meals are served in the house too, we eat most meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spare time, you have an easy access to public transportation and therefore easily can get to the bigger cities, and you will have your own bicycle while staying her.
    There are a lot of tourist attractions nearby and one of Denmark’s best beaches is only 1.5 km away!

    Our farm is situated in the beautiful North Jutland, between two popular tourist towns Løkken and Lønstrup, near seaside with a splendid bread sand beach surrounded by magnificent nature!
    All our animals are domestic and child-friendly. The relationship with them and the many happy children who come to visit really makes happy. And you will meet many interesting people from all over the world.
    There are a lot of interesting places to see in and around Løkken and Lønstrup. Good beaches, many activities for young people, great possibilities for riding the bike.

    You can take the bus to Løkken ( 5 min) or to Hjørring ( 15 min) and from Hjørring the train ( 35 min) to Ålborg which is the largest city in the area.

    You will have your own bike for free use. There are only a few km to Action House, Fårup Sommerland, Børglum Kloster, Rubjerg Knot, North Sea Oceanarium in Hirtshals, Eagle Sanctuary. Ferry from Hirtshals to Norway (2 and 1/4 hours) and from Frederikshavn to Gothenburg (3 hours).

    We are looking forward to meet you at our place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 461675534853

Feedback (58)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.7)


































































Join a family run circus wagon glamping in Aabybro, North Denmark
Kitchen garden projects and other hands-on tasks on the beautiful island Bornholm, Denmark