Help us make a dreamy garden in an alternative community in Åbyhøj, Denmark

Country

Denmark

updated  

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family consisting of Jon, 44 years, Anna, 32 years, Sylvester, 12 years, and our cute little dog Happy. Jon and Sylvester speak fluent spanish, and Anna is learning. We are very open minded people, care about the environment, social justice issues and personal development. We do a lot of yoga, meditation and Jon does training at home a few times a week. All of these activities you are welcome to join. We generally like exploring what it means to be human in various ways, and how we can live the best life possible.

    We live in a colourful and artistic little house in a beautiful south facing garden, just at the edge of Denmarks second biggest city, and right next to a big lake with canooing opportunities. Also close to the ocean.

    Jon is on part-time sick leave while recovering from stress, and Anna is on full time sick leave with a chronic decease called Chronic Fatique Syndrom, so she needs a lot of rest. This is one of the reasons we would like help from you, since we dont have the energy to do all the things we want to do in our garden and house. This also means we are almost always at home, except when we are at a festival or other social activities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Anna is a nerd when it comes to vegan and gluten free super healthy cooking, as well as tiny house building, so you can learn a lot about that. With gardening we do our best, but we dont really know what we are doing. We can learn together :D Jon is a professional juggler, so you can also learn some juggling if you like.

  • Help

    Help

    We want help building a Tiny house for Sylvester in the garden, a cold bath, and other small building/maintainance projects, as well as finishing our sauna. Building experience is a requirement. We also need ongoing help with gardening, (vegan) cooking and general household work. Being able to cook healthy, balanced and tasty vegan meals independently is a big plus, but if you are able to work independently on building projects and can’t cook, then that’s also great. Building is our main priority.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in a small house in the garden, or inside the house on the loft, depending on your preferences. There is electricity, wifi and heating available in the garden house. You will share meals with us in the house, and we all share the tasks of cooking and cleaning up after the meals, relatively equally between us. So these tasks come on top of the 4-5 hours a day of work - unless you wish to cook and clean more than “your share”, then it will be part of what counts as work. If you can’t cook, you get to clean after our cooking :) You will probably share a bathroom with us, but it could be that you get your own, if you come when the sauna house bathroom in the garden is ready. You still get to use the Jacuzzi of course :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 5 km from the city center, you can go by bus or borrow a bike from us. We live right next to a big lake with walking/cycling paths around it, and we have access to kanoo and kayak sailing on the lake anytime you want (not in the winter). We live in a community of hippies, with some communal activities, and an open atmosphere towards everyone. When the sauna is ready this will be possible to use, and in the meantime we have a Jacuzzi you can also use anytime.

    We sauna naked (this is a traditional part of Danish culture and of course completely non-sexual) and take cold baths in the garden, so you gotta be ok with that.

    Anna needs quiet when taking her afternoon nap of a few hours in the afternoon (2pm-4pm, approximately) and from around 10pm-9am the next day we expect quiet time for sleep. We expect open and honest communication, like that you bring it up if you have a problem with something, rather than hiding it away and build up tension. We also expect that you are able to think for yourself and sometimes work independently, so we can get you started on a task, and then do something else ourselves for a while.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good office space separate from the other house which is available whenever Anna is not having a nap in there. When Anna is taking a nap, you can sit in the camper or by the dining table.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a dog which is usally good with other dogs, but not cats. Our dog runs free in the garden, where your camper is placed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 556459352711