updated  

Outdoor help and enjoy the cultural attractions near Alhama de Granada, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 253 times
  • Last activity: 7 Jun 2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    LAST MINUTE: We would welcome 2 workaway travel buddies or a couple for 2 week to help us with some gardening, weeding near Alhama de Granada. Dates are from 28 May to 9th June. Alternative dates in June may be possible.
    Normally, we welcome applicants to come over in early Spring and September to Octoberr 2023.

    We prefer to host couples or travel buddies as it could be lonely when you are on your own. We are closed from 1 November to 1 April each year. We are now taking bookings for volunteers to come over in the Autumn 2023.


    We are a British couple living in southern Spain, near Alhama de Granada. We enjoy the outdoor activities and are developing a garden for pollinators for our bees to thrive. We are looking for people to help us with planting, clearing weeds in some areas, a little of building and enjoy the environmental activities. In April and May we do lots of planting and in October we´ll include harvesting olives in our schedule and planting the garden for pollinators, in Spring we´ll plant wild flowers and work with the bee hives.
    Due to the Saharan sand storms we have experienced, we are currently doing a lot of cleaning, so please apply only if you are happy to literally, get your hands dirty with us,

    Ideally volunteers should have building knowledge and strong physical disposition. Work is during the mornings.


    Our nearest town, Alhama de Granada, has lots of history and you can enjoy traditional town life. It is just beautiful.

    We are part of an environmental activities group and there will be the opportunity to meet other similar minded people.

    We live in the countryside with two dogs, one cat, lots of birds, bee hives and the wildlife around us is thriving.

    We can offer you an ensuite bedroom, vegetarian/vegan meals and a place to relax and recharge your batteries.

    We would expect workaway open minded people to apply. Non smokers and people happy to do gardening, building and physical work. We garden organic so no chemicals are used on the land and the work of managing the weeds is intensive.

    There is always healthy drinks and food at the table, plenty of fruits and cereal bars to keep you going and three lovingly cooked vegetarian/vegan meals every day.

    Volunteers must be NON smokers, and be aware that we are a drug free environment, no exceptions. Volunteers must be happy to work the great outdoors in an isolated location.

    So there you have it, if you like it, get in touch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We´ll invite them to take the cultural tour of the town of Alhama or the roman villa of Salar when available and we can visit some other local cultural attractions. Before departure, they could be treated to a visit to the thermal baths (arab baths) to ensure they return home fully relaxed, suntanned and happy to have visited. I speak fluent Spanish and I am happy to help people practice their language skills.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with the gardening as we are developing a garden for pollinators, planting, clearing land, removing stones, help with the rebuild of a fallen wall. All tools and materiales will be supllied, to include the drinks and tapas at the end of the day.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We can help you improve your English language skills or practice your Spanish. Both spoken at native level.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double ensuite bedroom with, full use of a kitchen lounge area, shared with paying guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beach is only one hour away and buses run in the morning and evening so there is time to spend a day in Torre del Mar. The city of Granada with its magnificent Alhambra monument, the most visited monument of Spain is only 45 min away. or 1 hour by bus.
    We are in an isolated location. We have bikes that can be used to explore the surrounding area.
    There are opportunities to participate in local activities and fiestas, depending on dates.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet connection is good for checking emails, not for streaming or live broadcast as we only have 5 megas and network for telephone calls coverage not so good due to our remote location.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of parking space.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 451766652524

Feedback (12)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)





















Help us with our girls and with practicing English while learning about Catalan culture in Castellar del Vallés, Spain
Help us out with our homestead and regenerative farm in Ginestar, Spain