1 / 5

Traditional veggie garden, fruit trees and some DIY at my farm in the Algarve, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 722 times
  • Last activity: 12 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    In 2017, I bought and renovated an old farm house in the Algarve, Portugal. Since then, I cleaned up the land, planted various fruit trees (such as almond, walnut, cherry, apple, pear and peach) etc. in addition to the already existing citrus, olive fig and other trees. Moreover, a traditional veggie garden has been set up. I also try to make grow more exotic plants (pine apple, mango, coffee...) which is - with a bit of luck - not always meant to fail.
    I am a human rights lawyer but interested in traditional gardening inspired by permaculture. The idea of my 2,4 hectars farm is to develop it for a project with other people who are eager to share a life in connection to the land and its traditions.
    It is important to mention that all this is a non-profit project.
    The farm has a fantastic sea view on the Algarve's south coast and is also close to the Costa Vicentina (20 min drive to Aljezur).
    One of the two renovated houses is occasionally used for guest rooms to tourists. More pics are posted on instagram spira_algarve.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to learn about traditional gardening inspired by permaculture, irrigation and use of gardening tools.
    All creative contribution (painting, photography etc) for the house is welcomed.
    Even if the place is in a rural area it s decently populated and more workawayers are just around the corner easily to catch up with if interested.

  • Help


    Mainly gardening, such as taking care of veggie garden, collecting oranges and lemons, figs. Pruning olive and orange trees. Cleaning of the land. Setting up drip irrigation. Preparation of the land to expand the plantation of fruit trees.
    Tasks around the house such as painting, reparation of wooden furniture etc.
    Any contribution to promote the guesthouse for tourists are welcomed (on social media etc).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Russian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Individual suit in guesthouse (own bedroom with bathroom). Collective use of kitchen and living room. WiFi available.
    Either you prepare food by your own (I buy what you need) or we cook together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is pubic transport to Monchique and Portimao. I can also provide bikes. The area is great for hiking. I can give you a drive when convinient (also to the beach).
    Under the cork oaks belonging to my land, you will find a wonderful place for yoga and meditation that is full of great energy.
    If you play tennis, we can play together.
    There are usually further workawayers in the neighbourhood and it's easy to catch up with more people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Very good WiFi connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days per week

Host ref number: 573519983599

Feedback (9)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.8)

Help with daily tasks, painting, gardening, babysitting, organizing and tidying up in Algarve, Portugal
Come and help and learn on a biodynamic farm with vineyard and olive grove in Central Portugal