Help a friendly family in the mountains Camaleno, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    79.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! Hola! We are Greg and Daisy!

    We moved to Spain three years ago, and now live in a beautiful village in the Picos de Europa national park, with our two year old son and various animals.

    We travelled round the world together in 2012, and agreed that the Picos is the most beautiful place we'd been to! We love the outdoors, and here there is hiking, mountain biking and climbing, as well as being close enough to the coast that you can do some incredible surfing!

    We have numerous projects going on, the main one being the renovation of our property. Greg quit his desk job and is experienced as a builder, so can share his knowledge with others, as well as always being keen to learn! We will be using solar power on our property and hope to make it as sustainable as possible. Anyone wanting experience in building, or to share their knowledge will be very welcome!

    We speak intermediate Spanish, and speak both Spanish and English at home. We're always keen to explore this beautiful area, which is famous for local produce (orujo, wine, honey, cheeses) and outdoor adventures. As well as the building project, we also want to start bee keeping, improve our Spanish cooking and learn local traditions.

    If you would like to spend time in a truly beautiful area, learning new customs and experiencing a different way of life, please get in touch!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Picos are an incredible area, you'll have time to enjoy the peaceful environment, as well as explore the area. We are in the heart of the mountains, where you can go hiking, mountain biking, climbing, skiing, horse riding and canoeing.
    You can learn and gain experience in carpentry and building.
    Learn Spanish with us, or we can teach you English.
    We live in a traditional Spanish village where you can learn horticulture, bee keeping and orujo/wine making (seasonal).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love people that can help with building/construction. No experience is necessary, just a willing pair of hands,

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak English and Spanish at home, and there is an opportunity for practising and improving both.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room in our home in a village in the national park, with free (fast) wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small beautiful village, which is only 3 km from Potes, the main town in the Picos where you'll find a great selection of restaurants, bars and outdoor activities. If you have your own transport, great! Otherwise we can lend you a bike to explore the area. There are also regular buses to Santander, which stop off on the coast.
    We're still exploring this incredible area so always looking for excuses to try new things!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I work from home and, despite being remote, we have a great wifi connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a cat and a dog, both very social. Happy to accept well behaved pets into the mix!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 632345276556