Help me revamp my home in authentic neighborhood in Oaxaca, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 104 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Roci, I am a retired Pharmacist living here with my daughter and small dog Chester. I love living in Oaxaca and have many friends. With a strong knowledge of the area, I can offer great recommendations from where to find the best tortillas and tamales to which villages have the best handicrafts such as beautiful rugs and scarves. Our house is humble and the energy is good. Our people come as guests and leave as family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a small neighborhood outside of the center with local access to culture, markets, hiking in the mountains, and horseback riding. Here you will be able to practice your Spanish and visit nearby artisan villages.

  • Help

    Help

    Here we are looking for help with keeping common spaces clean, artistic projects such as murals, and garden installations. If you have any building experience that is also great as there are always ongoing projects as we continue to grow.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is simple but nice. A shared room with two bunks, a private bathroom, hot water, and access to a large shared outdoor kitchen with three burners, three sinks, a refrigerator, blender, kettle, etc. The terrace upstairs has 360-degree views of the mountains and is perfect for beautiful sunrise/sunsets and yoga.

    There are many fresh markets nearby from which I will buy fruits and vegetables which you can prepare as you like in our beautiful outdoor kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The bus "terminal" is right out front with frequent trips into Centro (15-20 minutes, 8 pesos) or taxis which can take you direct to enjoy beautiful churches, artisanal shopping, restaurants and bars, as well as tours to popular sites of Mitla, Monte Alban, Tule, and access to minibuses and the ADO central station for your onward trips.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (3.7)

Communication: (3.8)








Host ref number: 479397422472