Come and help on our family farm homestead in Toledo, Southern Belize

Country

Belize

Favourited 227 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Americans in Belize for 4 years. Our farm is located in the lovely village of Big Falls in the Toledo district of Belize. We are a couple with a sweet and energetic 4 year old daughter and an almost 2 year old baby boy. We are seeking a mother’s helper as well as a farm hand. If your skills overlap that’s awesome too! We are open to families with children, groups of friends, couples, or solo travelers. We are seeking like minded individuals to join us and help us, so here is a bit about us. Please reach out if you feel a resonance!
    We love to prepare delicious meals and we eat as clean as possible, we are into permaculture, music and art, yoga and mindfulness and like to consider ourselves peaceful warriors. We are learning about permaculture as we go and it’s really fun and interesting! We care deeply for the earth and are honored to be able to tend to this land. We are particular about use of anything chemical on our farm, so please bring all natural toiletries and products.
    Currently eating from our farm: coconuts, plantain, banana, cassava, chaya, papaya, turmeric, coco yam, bilimbi, pineapple, pumpkin, greens and herbs. Our trees are fairly young, so what’s not bearing yet we buy from other excellent organic farmers in the area.
    We are 420 Friendly, hard working and motivated, but time for creativity and relaxation is also a part of each day.
    Please no chemical tobacco smokers, we would consider light organic tobacco users ( if smoke is far away from the children), please no heavy drinkers.
    We have 2 sweet dogs and a cat both all with big personalities! Our dogs our friendly, but our German Shepard barks a lot at everyone which can be kind of annoying. We also have a flock of chickens for eggs and meat.
    Punta Gorda Town is a 30 minute drive of 45 minute bus ride away. There is a lot to explore in Toledo district and we encourage some days off. Occasionally we are up for excursions with our guests in the area if you want to pitch in for gas!
    We have high speed internet in our common areas and we usually shut it off between 10pm-6am.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our area is truly a gem! It is so diverse. Each cultural group here has something interesting to learn from (Mayans, Kriol, Garifuna, East Indian, Mennonite, Chinese). In our back yard there are Mayan ruins, chocolate farms, river tubing and zip lining. A half hour away you reach the coast at Punta Gorda where you can set out to sea for snorkeling, island hopping and fishing.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The mother’s helper would assist me with the kids in all kinds of activities, mealtimes, bath times, reading stories, playing outside. The little one is still quite dependent on mom so often you’d be taking care of our 4 year old who is extremely social, fun and intelligent. I’d also love some help with meal prep and really enjoy cooking creative meals with people. The farmhand would spend mornings and afternoons helping my partner Will planting trees, gardening, harvesting food, building, and landscaping.
    People who’s skills overlap are great too! You can hang out with the kids and help on the farm!
    Household duties and helping with the pets is needed too!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an open air dorm space with mattresses and mosquito nets which we provide.
    Breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks will be provided. We eat many plant based meals, but we also eat dairy and meat from small local farms in our area, and sometimes fresh fish from the sea.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    James bus line stops right on the highway near our rental and farm. This service will get you all over Toledo and greater Belize.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.8)








Host ref number: 438676199889