Come and help in the garden, on the fields and with some projects around the house in Upper Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 240 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    122

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family & house & fields needs some help!
    ... so we need helping hands on the fields and in the garden, in the house, to do some renovation work/ wooden work, to upcycle an old cupboard ...
    So if you love it to help - please join us!

    We - Michaela & Gerald (41, 46 years old) live with our 3 girls (*2009, *2011 *2014) on a farm house in St. Marien (in the triangle of Linz, Wels and Steyr in Upper Austria; close to Salzburg (115km), Vienna (180km) and Munich (250km))
    After getting the experience to be volunteers ourself in New Zealand and Canarian Islands and enjoying to meet different families and places we decided that it's our turn to welcome workaways at our place.
    Since 1978 we run an organic farm. Our customers enjoy our homegrown fresh organic vegetables (carrots, onions, pumpkins, parsnips, parsley, ...) and fresh vegetables in grown in greenhouses (lettuce, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, ...). We also produce all kind of grain and seeds. We sell our vegetables and grains in our farm shop and each Friday morning we supply various shops and restaurants with our products in Linz.
    At the moment we also try to get into the cultivation of tea herbs such as lemon balm or mint Krause - last year we harvested the first crop of herbs.
    At our farm we also have a horse boarding stable and riding school which is actually rented out but temporarily help is needed there too.
    We are open minded, we love to cook and eat, music, DIY, bake bread, cook jam, chutney, ... ...
    So if you fancy a stay at a sustainable organic farm to experience the turn from plant via vegetable to compost, combined with the possibility to work with horses and enjoy some family time with three farm girls - contact us for further information.


    Wir - Gerald & Michaela (46,41) leben mit unseren 3 Mädchen (geb *2009, 2001 u 2014) auf einem Vierkanthof in St. Marien, mitten im Zentralraum von Linz, Wels und Steyr. Salzburg (115km), Wien (180km) und München (250km) sind relativ nah und gut öffentlich erreichbar.
    Bereits seit 1978 bewirtschaften wir unsere Felder nach biologischen Regeln als Mitglied der ORBI Bauern bzw. der BIO Austria. Neben dem klassischen Ackerbau liegt der Schwerpunkt unserer Landwirtschaft schon seit Beginn an bei Gemüse- und Kartoffelanbau. Unsere Kunden freuen sich über Lager-Gemüse (Karotten, Zwiebel, Kürbis, Pastinaken, Petersilie, …) bzw. Frischgemüse im Folienhaus (Blattsalat, Tomaten, Paprika, Gurken, …). Neben den altbewährten Sorten werden immer wieder Raritäten angepflanzt. Unser Gemüse und Getreide vermarkten wir in unserem Hofladen und jeweils Freitag früh beliefern wir verschiedene Läden und Lokale mit unseren Produkten in Linz.
    Daneben entwickeln wir ein weiteres Standbein und experimentieren seit zwei Jahren im Anbau von Teekräutern wie Zitronenmelisse oder Krause-Minze.
    Für eine optimale Kreislaufwirtschaft wurde professionelle Kompostierung begonnen und wird nun eine Kompostieranlage für Grünabfälle betrieben.
    Am Betrieb haben wir einen Pferdestall eingemietet, wo eine Mithilfe zeitweise möglich ist.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoyed being workaways in NewZealand& Canarian Islands; we had workers/ helpers from Austria, Romania, Kroatia, South Africa, ... it's a nice cultural exchange. We and our children like it to make new friendships!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Processing of vegetables, grains and fruit, the beautiful and challenging life on a farm experience!
    building projects, compost & general maintenance around the farm

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Privat accommodation with shared living area (sometimes with other workers)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 426953214783