Join our family organic farm and help with cooking healthy vegetarian food near Bologna, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    664

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!
    we are Bruno & Elena and we have an organic farm of 4,5 acres adjacent to our house.
    We are simple, enthousiastic and happy people!.
    We grow mainly vegetables, some fruits and cereals. Bruno works full-time on the farm, Elena has a job elsewhere and therefore she is only present part -time. We have two children aged 8 and 13 attending the local Steiner School. We have an healthy life and we eat healthy vegetarian food mostly self-produced.
    We are looking for somebody who can help us in the kitchen during "summer camps" during which we host kids 4-11 years old coming mainly from the local Steiner School and followed by a Steiner teacher.
    The food is vegan and vegetarian and the stay here Mon-Fri 08.30-14.30. The ideal volunteer is somebody really loving children, simply food and veg/vegan cuisine. The kids are not so many, normally around 12-15.
    We still need help from 5 September until 13 september (1 week).
    We are also looking for somebody from October/November for some easy simple tasks like paking vegetables or cereals or dried herb, making jams, labelling vases, very simple jobs anybody can easily do.
    In case you prefere agricutural tasks in the fields, please note we do not allow volunteers in the fields as this is not allowed from Authorities unless throught an agreement with another volunteer Association specific for gardening (we may help in this). In this way you could learn to seed, transplanting, packing vegetables, fruits etc..
    Normally we ask for at least 5-6 hours of help a day Mon-Fri.
    Elena speaks English, French and Spanish. We work with other two partners who speaks little English.
    We do not have TV, but an internet connection is available. No smoking is allowed in house.
    In case you would like to join us, few recommendations to bare in mind before writing to us:
    - We offer separate room outside the house, the room has kitchen and bathroom with shower inside
    - We may accept only one person per time, sorry
    - We suggest you no more than 2-3 week stay, the accommodation we may offer is not so confortable for long stays
    - We ask you to write us ONLY if you really intend to join us and if our profile really fits to what you are looking for.
    We receive so many requests but 99% turns to nothing, so I am sorry to say ..no time-wasters!
    We wait for you!
    Elena & Bruno

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You may learn the Steiner way of educating and enjoy the organic farm very simple way of life.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with our summer camps, that is help the Steiner teacher, deal with 12-15 kids and particularly cooking for them in the morning and keeping clean the house. Periods: 15 July to 2 August and from 26 august to 15 September.
    If you prefere agricultural taks it is possible, we will discuss in details about this.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English French Spanish only by Elena

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a room outside the house with bathroom and kitchen. This room is where the kids from the summer camp stays so there is the need to keep it absolutely clean and in order.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunters may visit Bologna, the oldest University in Europe (15 km) and we are mid way between Florence (100 km) and Venice (160 km).
    You should land in Bologna Airport, which is 6 km far from our house and normally we may pick you up.
    We are around 500 mt far from the nearest bus stop that goes to Bologna (45 min by bus).
    The nearest train station is Anzola dell'Emilia (on the Bologna MIlano line) and it is 1,5 km far but you can bike there and in 15 min you are in the city.
    The nearest village is always Anzola dell'Emilia and you may also bike there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 532152987974