updated  

Join our small diverse hobby-farm dedicated to biodiversity and fruit and energy self-sufficiency in Wald, Austria

  • Austria
  • Favourited 558 times
  • Last activity: 29/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hallo !! :-)
    Right now there is a 14kWp Photovoltaik ready to be mounted together (mechanically) and trees to be planted into the "wild" as well as large trees (30m) to be cut down. And of course always the roof to be dry-walled. So if this sounds interesting to you- let me know. :-)
    We look for patient, fair to good german speaking people that help Oma, our "house manager", in the garden and around the house. We invite you to try understand Opa´s dad-jokes and stories and cook together with Oma. At times we are weeding fruit-trees so they thrive, just now we start with the fruit drying and apple juice preparation, build dry-walls/insulation for our new kitchen upstairs, cutting (fire)wood - a little of everything :-) The woods around the farm are perfect for searching mushrooms and forest-bathing..
    My grandparents and I have two seperate households and I do have to travel for my job quite a bit, so most of the time you will spend with two warm-hearted older Austrians, beautiful nature and friendly neighbours. I work as a one-man-show consulting engineer. I still work on my PhD and I loved to travel before I settled in Atzling- I visited around 50 countries, often as trainee, worker and of course as a tourist. My girlfriend Eva is on the farm for 1-3 days/week and sometimes brings her daughters with her.

    We all life on a small farm and try to be self-sufficient where it makes sense (easy and rewarding) and animal keeping close to the community of Pyhra, 14km from the city of St.Pölten (train station), an 60km from our capital, Vienna. We, that are, Grandpa and Grandma, Alois and Eva. Grandpa and Grandma were already farmers, when our parents arrived in this world. They just speak German and so we can host only workawayers that have a basic knowledge of German. Although it´s hard to understand their dialect! :-) Not suitable for learners.

    We love to share our place and we like the interaction, but at the same time we need some "social rest" and therefore we start stays at around 10 days and limit them to around 3 weeks in general. I need to do quite some office work, and Opa & Oma are quite old, so you should also enjoy work- and free- time by yourself.
    We got a lot of work clothes, t-shirts, jeans, pollovers, rubber boots, .. for you. Just make sure you bring a pair of working/hiking boots.
    The Pitzelsbergerhof (farm) was once a dairy and arable farm, and has changed to a living project. We keep 2 ewes, beehives, 2 cats and some chicken. In April we get around 3 lambs. We practice conscious meat consumption of our own animals, living as close to nature as possible. We work with a minimum of external organic feed, so they need a lot of space/pastures and we plant many trees and shrubs to help feed them well.
    The garden has reached a manageable size and provides well, the orchard is cut into a fruitful shape. The old stables are reactivated one after the other, some gradually change into common rooms, wood and material storage, and other purposes more. We also got a Sauna.
    The woodwork is also an important part of the work especially in winter, as we use our own wood chips for heating and timber for carpentry in our projects. For example the pasture fences, a passive solar earth greenhouse, stairs, animal housing,.. We changed a lot to use less energy- we have solar collectors for hot water, all lights are LED, good insulation, clever management, photovoltaic for the electrical fence, 8kW for electricity and soon another 14 with a battery,...
    Spring, summer and early autumn are the busier times, but there is always time to look at the landscape of the Most4tel (region), because we are aware of the amazing spot we live in. There are beautiful bicycle tours and hikes around, a natural community swimmingpool that we have seasonal tickets for, the lakes and mountains are just a bit further away.
    We have to harvesting berries, feed the animals, check the fences, collect the honey, cook and clean the house, cut firewood and split it for drying- maul wood, water the vegetables, clean the pastures, dry fruits,...

    In order to understand you and your interest in our place- I would like to get to know you. Be open about your expectations! Just take some time to explain why you are interested in staying with us. Believe me, there is no wrong reason and there is a match for every intention. Let us check how we both can get the most out of our shared time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a unique setting facing the start of the alps from a south-oriented hill - in our back is the capital of lower Austria (St.Pölten, 14min, train station) and Vienna is just an hour away. You can learn about beekeeping, animal care (sheep, turkeys, bees), gardening, fruit tree maintenance, tree production, Kontiki-active coal, Terra Preta, cooking, how to keep supplies, build barns, tree care, hay making, sell products, prepare wood for heating, compost, ...

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    My grandparents are around 90 and they can need a hand here and there - but you really have to win their trust to get them ask for support. Usually Oma might need help harvesting berries, garden work, watering and maybe cooking. I do projects like planting trees and cutting wood, fence repairs and maintenance, weeding around trees, mucking out, tinkering / improvising, ... - always with instructions, starting together and with feedback

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We got a separate room for people willing to help on the farm, the meals will be together and you can spend your leisure time cycling, hiking, walking, watching animals and sunsets.. We got plenty of work clothes, so you can safe your clothes for your leisure time.
    Food is typically fresh cooked by grandma, meat if you like, but always vegetarian as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on a sunny southern slope with a view of the foothills of the Alps and yet only 15 minutes from the railway station St. Pölten. There are many hiking routes in around the village (12 houses), as well as cycling tours. We got river Traisen close and 2 beautiful lakes- you can get there by bike (we got some 4 you) or sometimes we go together by car. I can get and bring you from/to town (St.Pölten) and you can take the train to Vienna (25min by train, nearest capital and airport).
    We prefer stays around 1- 2 weeks, because work is always changing and the house rules aren´t too difficult to learn. We´ll always start work together and sometimes carry on in different combinations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We got plenty space to park indoor and outdoor.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    ~depending on work and weather- around 25 hours/week

Host ref number: 379336214742

Feedback (35)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













































Help out at our family campsite, St. Georgen im Gailtal, Austria
Help us on our farm and care for the animals in Styre, Austria