Help me on my farm with small building projects and learn about agriculture in Aljezur, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 106 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I’m Filippo, I am 30 years old and come from Italy. After years of living all around the world, I permanently moved to Portugal in 2020 to start building my own farm.

    I have a classic education in Agriculture. I studied and worked all over the world before starting my own project. Now my time is split up between developing my farm and cultivating 2 additional hectares of vineyards that I am slowly recovering and bringing back to production for winemaking. Volunteers are asked to only help on the farm but if they show interest in vineyards and their cultivation I will be happy to give some insights.

    The farm is around 3 Ha, with the main house, veggie garden, pine forest and more. It’s an idyllic place in the countryside just 10 minutes drive from some of the most beautiful beaches Portugal has to offer. The main village, Aljezur can be reached by bicycle or car in just a few minutes. There you will find anything you need (pharmacy, grocery store, farmers market, shops, …)

    To run and manage the farm we take inspiration from permaculture, market gardening and traditional farm practices learned through direct experience with local farmers. We are not fanatic on one way of farming and we take what we think works good for us from each different philosophy. The core of the project is to provide an effective design in order to minimize inputs, improving soil quality and generating a balanced system.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be sharing good times on the land and I can give you some precious local insights on things to do around the area. There is always a lot to do, share and learn from each other. I speak Italian, French, English, Portuguese and Spanish. Again, I have a higher education in agriculture and years of experience in the field and I will be happy to share some insights on how the things happen here on the farm.

  • Help

    Help

    I ask travelers to contribute with different tasks, depending on the season and skills. There will be tasks in the veggie garden, general land maintenance, small building projects (compost toilets, small structures, wooden decks, ...) and landscaping. Based on your skills and priority of the tasks that has to be done we will find a solution that is best for you and me.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation will be a private room in the main house, with access to kitchen and bathroom. Good Wi-Fi connection. We will be sharing some of the facilities but I will be based in another structure on the land, within walking distance from the main house.

    If you have a van or tent and wish to use that instead, you will have access to kitchen, bathroom and outside area of the main house. I will also provide electricity and water for your needs.

    By the month of May there will be another structure on the land that will be used as accomodation for volunteers, with own bathroom and shower and own access from another side of the property.


    I have a dog that lives and stays on the farm 24/7. If you have a pet we will have to discuss some details before your arrival. No animals inside the house at any time of day or night.

    Food provided, from veggie gardens and local markets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to do on your time off. From surfing or chilling on one of the several amazing beaches around the area. You can explore the countryside and its small villages, check out local pottery shops and just have a good time. If you wish, there is also the possibility for some paid extra jobs that you can perform during your time off (land clearing, small construction/painting jobs and other similar tasks). I can sometimes provide a bicycle to go to town but a car or some basic transportation is needed to fully enjoy the area. There is also a bus that goes from the farm to the village and from the village to the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a good internet connection (not fiber tho). You can youse your free time to work online in the main house, if i am not using it for other purposes. There is also a great cafe/coworking space just few minutes from the farm that offer some great coffee and vegetarian/vegan meals.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    As mentioned before, you are more than welcome to stay in your own van and have access to the facilities of the main house (kitchen, bathroom, outside space). I will provide electricity and water based on your needs.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We will have to discuss this prior to your arrival as I have a dog that lives on the farm 24/7.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 373852763759