Fresh air and hands-on work in beautiful forested hills, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/07/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Tim and Caroline, live in a forest in the Catalan pre-Pyrenees with our two well-travelled cats, our dog and chickens. We are living in a centuries' old house amidst nature. It is calm and beautiful here. In future, we hope to facilitate a modest retreat environment for individuals/people to reconnect with nature, themselves, and for personal/spiritual growth. We also aim to live more self-sustainably but for now we are starting-up and focusing on the first priorities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Apart from dedicated hard work, we also like interesting conversations, a good laugh and sharing with like-minded people. We have a history in working for NGO's internationally. Since we are quite new here, we don't speak Catalan yet, but as we both worked abroad a lot we can help you improve your English, Dutch or Spanish and share experiences. We think we offer a nice balance of being able to be on your own and amongst yourselve(s) and spending time and sharing together with us, between working independently and exchanging (work) knowledge. During time-off there are many opportunities to explore the Catalan culture, history, art.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who enjoy intensive manual labour outdoors and who love tranquility and nature. A couple, or two or three friends would be great. We are looking for help for one or a few weeks at a time.
    The land and forest need quite a lot of work and the natural swimming pool needs renovation, we also would be very happy with someone with carpentry skills who likes to renew some of our wooden window frames.
    The main jobs we have are cutting and topping trees, process the wood that comes from that; for this we are looking for an experienced person who knows how to handle a chain saw. The pool needs cleaning, cementing and some painting. And as said constructing wooden window frames. We also have (bad-weather) alternatives depending on the priority jobs at the time. If you have experience with forest maintenance that would be a plus, generally being handy is necessary here. We propose to work all together as well as individually, five days a week. We can discuss together which days. Working hours we suggest: 08.30 - 14.00 with a coffee/tea break, and a warm lunch together afterwards.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a private room(s) with bathroom. We also have a beautiful space for a small camper van, with access to electricity. You are expected to keep the room(s) clean yourself and be environmentally conscious. Preferably non-smokers, but we can set up a dedicated spot outside.
    We suggest to have lunch together on working days and will provide groceries for the other meals. All food is vegetarian and we ask you to live like a vegetarian while here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is approx. 30km west of Girona, but feels quite isolated. The nearest village is 15/20 minutes by car. From here you will find public transport to e.g. Girona and Barcelona, or to a beach or the high mountains. We can pick you up/drop you off upon agreement. Our area is good for walking, meditating, relaxing, star-gazing or wild-life/bird spotting. Our place is ideal for writing, studying, reading and introspection. When we go to the city to stock-up at least once a week, you are welcome to join us for a ride and a few hours of city-life. Our place is great if you primarily want to immerse yourself in nature and from time to time like to venture out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 414544751718