Help at our ranch for retired rescue horses near Kamloops, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 1068 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi folks! We are looking for help starting the middle of January for at least a month. We are looking for help in spring as well, people with horse experience are preferred. Help us with our horses and enjoy the winter at a beautiful part of B.C. So if you are looking to help we would love to talk. We are very careful and don't want anyone that has not taken social distancing seriously and hopefully has been in self-isolation. Preference is given to a male candidate with handyman experience since we need help in fall with splitting our firewood. We are looking for somebody hard working that has experience with machines. This is a great place to help at anytime of year, it's beautiful and quiet a great time to find your peace and look towards the future.

    My name is Lea and my husband Bud and our family has a horse ranch up near Kamloops in B.C.! We are a retirement
    home for horses. We have older horses that we have rescued and we also board some retired horses as well. These horses come from many different backgrounds. Some we are still able to ride, some we just enjoy giving them a wonderful retirement. The helpers that come will learn natural horsemanship and the art of looking after older horses as well. If you are open minded you will learn a lot about horses and ranch life. We have been hosting helpers for 18 years and are happy to have you join us in our home. We help you to improve your riding skills and your ground work well as you English. You will work hard here but you will also learn and enjoy life on a ranch with many very cool horses. If this interests you please read further and see what we are looking for at the moment and get in touch. At different times of year we look for different types of helpers. We look forward to hear from you.
    We are looking for end of winter helpers as well as booking for spring and summer and fall and winter 2020 and 2021.
    About our place and the help around here: our ranch is up in Knutsford near Kamloops. We offer a retirement home for about 44 horses of all kinds, sizes and breeds, our three dogs and 4 cats and about 70 chickens! All of our animals and pets love lots of love and attention. The help here is mostly farm tasks, you will feed our horses, walk our dogs, move hay, pick up horse manure (not in the winter when the snow comes), clean tack, collect eggs and keep chicken coop clean. You also will help keep the house clean and help keep the out buildings clean and organized. We also have to get our winter wood in before it snows each year. The winter days are quiet once you are done you are welcome to relax or go for walks or brush and enjoy the horses. We will have snow until around the middle or end of March. We live in a place with beautiful scenery, lots of peace and quiet but there is still lots to do if you are a self motivated person. While we have snow and ice there is not much riding unless the ground is not slippery. Riding depends a lot on your riding level more advanced riders will be able to ride in winter conditions bare back in the snow as long as it is not to slippery? There is a lots of other things to do. Enjoy reading some of our books, play the guitar or play some games inside. Bud loves to teach people how to play crib, (a card game!) The winter up here is cold so be prepared, it might be harder than the winters at the places you come from, but we have some extra warm clothes to use to help you be warm and happy! Summers are hot and dry but wonderful to enjoy the outdoors, my favorite time is spring and fall but anytime of year is amazing.
    The ranch is a beautiful place for you to get to know new people and become part of our family. It is a great chance to find your passion in life and think about how you want your future to be! The helpers that enjoy the ranch the most are people that can work independently and as a team. You need to be self motivated and enjoy staying busy. If you don't really enjoy hard outdoor tasks that must be done everyday then this might not be the ranch for you. I will be looking for helpers or a couple.

    You are ideal to help here if you have experience in handling and working with horses and do not mind to help in the morning. We start to feed at 8 am. Sometimes earlier in summer when it's very hot, so we get tasks done even when it is not so nice outside. We are a team and everyone learns all the chores and shares in everything. We work hard everyday but if everyone is organized and everyone gets busy your tasks get done there is lots of time to do other things.

    We do not expect you to help the whole day every day but we do need to get it done! Horses are hungry everyday, even on Sundays! One day a week we just feed the horses in the morning and afternoon and as long as there is no emergency we take the rest of the day off. We also take a day here and there and go off on little excursions like going to rodeos and visiting lakes to swim when its hot as well as other fun adventures all year long. There is also time in the afternoon most days to enjoy a walk or working with horses or sometimes to just relax as long as everyone works hard to get everything done! We want to offer a nice atmosphere with people that are open minded and happy to help! Tasks that is done together needs half the time because you enjoy it and have fun!

    We offer accommodation for girls and boys separately girls share a small cabin and the guys share a room in our barn, and food in exchange for your help as well as many years of experience with horses I can teach and pass on some of my horse wisdom! Plus you will get the chance to help with and when the weather is nice and the footing is safe to possibly ride horses.
    Please send us a message if you are interested in staying here so that we can talk and work something out! We have had a lot of international people staying here and we love to keep that exchange going! Please contact me as soon as possible as we need to get our helpers for the fall and winter organized. Feel free to write if you have any questions.

    Thanks Lea

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to look after and may have the chance to ride horses and learn natural horsemenship. I also hope you learn some good life lessons. We look after retired horses so you get to love lots of cool horses. As well as be a part of some building and clean up projects. We have years of wisdom and many special horsemanship skills to teach you. You will also improve your English speaking skills. We have spent many years having helpers come to the ranch and are willing to help you improve your English. We have had many helpers that after they leave the ranch say that their experence here has changed their lives for the better. Our ranch is a great place to find what makes you happy! We want everyone to follow your dreams and if we can help you with that we will be happy and so will you!!

  • Help

    Help

    We need winter help! You will help and learn all about working on and working with horses as well as help keeping the ranch running well. You will also help in the house. Someone that enjoys helping with a little cooking would be wonderful. We also have egg laying chickens so everyone helps look after them as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You share accommodation with other helpers that are here. We offer balanced basic healthy food for you to make your own breakfast and lunch and we share in cooking dinners. Everyone gets enough food no one goes hungry but any extras like junk food or things we don't supply you can get when we go in to shop at your cost. If you require any specialty foods or more food then we offer you will be able to buy your own. The girl helpers live in a cabin together and the male helpers have a nice area as well. You share a bathroom with the other helpers in the main house. Everyone helps keep where you live and the main house clean and tidy!!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a beautiful ranch with lots of horses we need help with. We live in a beautiful place and everyone enjoys working outside and living and loving all the horses we have to look after. I am looking for people that enjoy the out doors and like staying busy. The summer is very dry and warm normally. In the winter months we have snow for a good part of the winter so you can snowshoe or cross country ski we have dogs that love to go for walks. The evenings are quiet and you will have lots of time to relax if you wish. In the winter months we look for people that are happy finding things to keep themsleves happy. We don't go to town that often so you must find things to keep you busy. We have a wonderful life here and enjoy sharing with other people. Please have a look at our web site and email me if you think you would enjoy the life we have to offer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have space for cars and vans. I can also offer power but there would be a charge for that.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We need to look after the animals everyday but some days are less hours than others about 5 hours - max 25 hours

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 228975636166