Come and help us at the edge of the biggest natural reserve in the French Alps, France

  • Favourited 612 times
  • Last activity: 13 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello, We are Laetitia and 3 children (15, 12, 8 y.o.).
    1) Availability, from now till mid-July, for someone whose English is the mother tongue (man preferred) to do some DIY, here and there, in and outside the house + maintain the yard + talking/teaching English to my 3 children.
    Musician, photograph, and fisherman, very welcome.

    2) Looking for someone for 10 days in August, from 16 to 26 August,mainly for being with the children and helping with everyday chores. Man or woman. No matter your native language, as long as you speak some French or English.
    Musician, photograph, and fisherman, very welcome.

    Here you will find:
    FRENCH MOTHER TONG / CHILDREN / HAPPY MINDED / MOUNTAINS / HEALTHY MEALS (Raw fruits - Raw and cooked vegetables - Nuts - A few starches - meat/fish/eggs/dairy once in a while)

    You are handy, autonomous, dynamic, children friendly, not scared of cold and ready to live as part of our family … Come and join us on the adventure !

    WHO ?

    Laetitia is in love with a simple lifestyle and spending time with children.
    She’s interested in health tools and self development and likes transmitting her knowledge.
    She also likes making her home a pretty place and using her hands to make it happen. She likes things well done.
    Currently turning into a home organizer after having kept many things. So relieving !
    She is trained in the 8 shields model to connecting with nature, as a hiking guide, to animate philosophic and mindfulness courses with children, in the Montessori pedagogy (instruction/education) and in Gordon communication method (non-violent communication).
    She loves meeting new people, singing, dancing, listening to music, speaking English and Spanish and traveling.

    Her children’s hobbies: reading, watching movies, playing at minecraft, playing board games, playing the guitar, fishing, biking, playing base-ball, basket-ball, golf and frisbee in our yard ...

    Our native language is French and can help you in this way, I’ll be happy to correct you if you want me to. Notice that I also speak English.

    There are 3 children at home, and often have other children coming to our place, especially during school break. It happens that they are up to 9-10 children here. I like being with them and enable them to experiment to take care of the garden, the animals, learn about plants and wild life, spend time in the forest, make creations, practice mindfulness, experiment talking circles ... I am also keen on giving them the opportunity to enjoy and play all together in a nice and peaceful area.

    We live with 2 mini-sheep and a cat.

    WHERE ?

    We live in a former farm house in the Alps, at the edge of the biggest natural reserve in France, in a calm hamlet (760 m) where runs a small river, situated in the South East of France, in between Valence and Grenoble (both 1½ hour away).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities


    - First, you will be away from the city and experience the calm lifestyle of the mountains.

    - You will live an experience in a French mother tongue family.
    We can correct your french and lend you books for learning french.

    - You will gain in teaching your own langage (if your mother tongue is English).

    - You will get experience in DIY and using tools.

    - I can share my interest about food, ecological building, permaculture, "education", giving birth, non-violent communication, choices of life, self-development, health...

    - We can also discuss about traveling, which is one of my passion. I have been a helper myself on my travels.

    - You will experience to live with a happy, passionate family of 3 children.

    - During school break, you will gain on experience with children. As an adult, you are a model, and living around children also teaches a lot, especially when experimenting the "living together" lifestyle.


    During your time off, you can go trekking (walking tracks starting at the front door), fishing (river at 50 meters), snowshoeing, sledging*, bike riding *, taking pictures of the beautiful surroundings, relaxing in the forest or by the river, reading*, learning French*, internet access* ... (* materials we can lend you)
    We are away from big cities, but we do have villages around where you can go to the swimming-pool (in summer), visiting the village, weekly market, ... (6 km away – 30 minutes walking).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help



    In general, some renovating, repairing, creating, helping with home chores, garden, animals and sometimes with the children … 25 hours a week + daily help for preparing meals and doing the dishes. Help will vary depending on your skills, your wish and our priority.

    *** ON GOING WORKS***

    - Talking and teaching English, a playful way and English homework support, individually to each of my children (15, 12 and 8 years old). They are all learning English at school, but do not practise it elsewhere. You do not need to speak French. But English must be your mother tongue.
    - Maintaining the yard (weeding, pruning, compost …)
    - Making wooden fences to protect the trees and flowers from the sheep
    - Making a basket-ball backboard
    - Eventually other wood works using drill, circular saw, sander … (shelves, pieces of furniture ...)
    - Various little DIY here and there (repairing, renovating, fixing a gate for the garden …)
    - Sorting out and moving things
    - Some cleaning
    - Maybe stacking wood (if it arrives while you’re here)

    I like using materials that are home-made (paint, glue ...), recycled (from wooden palettes, wooden boxes ...), 2nd hand and eco-friendly. I particularly like working with wood.

    There will be moments you’ll be working on your own and others I will work with you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am looking for someone for talking and teaching English, a playful way and English homework support, individually to each of my children (15, 12 and 8 years old). They are all learning English at school, but do not practise it elsewhere. You do not need to speak French. But English must be your mother tongue. Our native language is French and can help you in this way. I won't give course, but can correct your French speaking and pronunciation. I can lend you practical and grammar books in English for learning French. Notice that I also speak English.

  • Accommodation


    AT HOME:

    Meals are taken in a family atmosphere. They are composed of raw (fruits, nuts, vegetables) and cooked (vegetables, starches) food, barely with meat/eggs/seafood/dairy (about once a week).
    You are welcome as part of the family.
    Accommodation is in a tent eather outside or inside in a part of the house that isn’t renovated yet.

    No smoking indoors and around the children.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers are welcome all year round. One or two people at a time.

    We don’t have any objection that you contact us to come few days later. It is even easier for us to get organized.
    Stays of 2 weeks minimum preferred. Long terms can be considered.

    I can help you with the buses schedules to come to our place, ask me if you need.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    It's a little piece of land (100 m²) by the side of the little road of our hamlet. At 50 meters from our house and 20 meters from the little river. No electricity available from there.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum per week

Host ref number: 542574214554

Feedback (9)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

French centre for peace education and global studies seeks helpers near Boussac, La Creuse, France
A little help with DIY in Montagnac sur Auvignon, France