Help at our Farm Stay in North East Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    298

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a small mixed farm in North-East Victoria - approx 2 hrs north of Melbourne.

    I am located in Oxley in the "Milawa Gourmet" food and wine region only 10 minutes drive to a main centre and train station. Surrounded by mountains and rivers, it is the gateway to everything outdoorsy, especially if you love to explore the like I do.

    The farm is my passion but is only small (approx 300acres) and is considered more of a hobby. I also have a number of businesses in the tourist sector which have mostly been closed during this Covid time (but are now starting to get very busy as domestic travel begins).
    This gave me the opportunity to focus on getting some general tasks done around the house and farm. I had 6 workaway-ers helping me and we have now finished these tasks.
    Some of the jobs completed were: farm fencing, gardening, new playground for the kids, a bird aviary, wood splitting, painting, animal care, cattle work and much more.

    I am now looking for one person to help around the house and farm, with general duties, with the possibility of paid work in the tourism business as restrictions start to lift. The scope within the tourism business is large and could lead to a full time job and for the right person and an opportunity to stay for quite a while. There would also be the possibility to complete your 88 days if required.

    I am also looking for 1 person with more specific skills in a trade such as, carpentry or building to help with some more technical jobs ahead. Possibly up to 3 months work here.

    I also don't have my 2 kids with me ATM but expect that to change soon. Jack is 11 and Teleah 9 .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I love to swap good travel stories and help you get excited about your own adventures. I have travelled much of the world on motorcycle and lived in various countries. I have written books, made travel documentaries and love to inspire others.
    During your stay you would have a chance to get outdoors, use the kayaks, visit wineries, go camping, enjoy a campfire and campfire cooking or skiing and snowboarding in the ski fields. I normally go to the snow fields for a week end of August. If you want to try riding a motorbike in the mountains I can take you or might just prefer socialising with some of my local friends and family. Most weekends I go somewhere Friday and Sat nights as I rent the house out on bnb.



    "The world is full of friends you haven't yet met".

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks include helping out domestically, cooking, cleaning, food shopping, with the potential to work in one of my businesses. There is also work to be done around the farm, garden and general maintenance tasks. There is a lot of variety for someone who can pick up tasks quickly and work un supervised at times.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    4 bedroom 2 story country style home. You would have your own bedroom and bathroom facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you would be welcome to use a car to get around. Sometimes we could do things together or you could self navigate. 10mins drive to the train station where you can go down to Melbourne or catch the bus to a variety of other places. Spring is a great time in this region with many events.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 367575418614