1 / 4

Looking for help with a weaving project

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 455 times
  • Last activity: 31 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    I am Tita, 55 years old and have been living the last 12 years working on myself sustainability in the ethics of permaculture and Love.

    I´m a yoga teacher, massage, and reiki therapist, weaver, gardener and nature career.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn how to weave, cook, Portuguese, and so much more!!

  • Help


    Since September 2019

    The weaving project is now one of many projects of the association Mater Minho, in a small town called Arcos de Valdevez

    This project is opened for the local community to recover and develop the handcrafts tradition in this area, like weaving, bordering, basketry and others.

    We have other projects that we are still working on them to be opened this year or next: Community garden, carpentry for loom making and creative recovering of old furniture and we also want to recover and develop the wool of our sheep so we can use it for weaving.

    This is a very beautiful region and we are sure you will love it ;)

    since 2017

    Now in a new phase of the weaving project, already in the north of Portugal. I intend to join other projects that are linked in some way and create one community profile.

    At this place, there is not much to be done besides helping in the small vegetable garden in spring and picking wood in summer...

    But I can receive you as a guest. What I can offer at the moment beside the weaving training and material you can use to weave something for your self. I can provide accommodation in a private room and we can share food but I would ask for you to contribute financially to cover expenses. (conscience donation)

    There is so much to see around...
    Nearby you can swim in the river and walk in the ecovia or in the mountains

    If you need more information feel free to write and ask!

    (Untill 2016)
    Looking for help for this weaving project.

    This is the 2nd step of the previous project, where wool and yarns were recovered from an old factory, abandoned by time.

    Wanting to honor the volunteer tasks of recovering and also the help of those who labored in the factory for many years, sometimes in sad human conditions, such as child and women exploitation.

    For 6 months we separated, cleaned, treated and are now ready to be woven, knitted, felted, and anything that imagination can create!

    It is desirable that most pieces come to be unique pieces, as for creation of the yarns itself and or the model to create, at the same time helping the best in self sustainable and ecological life style.

    Until August, we have most of the material in a farm, where we can stay in exchange the accommodation for some help on the farm as gardening, wood catch, painting, etc.. It´s an organic farm and also possible to explore knowledge of permaculture learning.

    What I can offer is training in weaving, knitting and crochet, the possibility to help with handicapped adults and special children (once a week - it´s optional). Also the chance to be part of the main team of this project.

    In September I will be moving This project to the north so I´ll be needing ore help in the farm were. I leave and also in the preparation to move the project. But there will still be soe tie to learn weaving If wanted.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    I have a independent room available. If it is warm, you can also camp in the garden, in case the house is full.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can come by bus untill the station of Arcos de Valdevez. I´ll pick you up there.

    You have direct buses from Porto center and also from the airport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 871933928979

Feedback (7)



Come and help on our farm in Torres Novas, Portugal
Come and enjoy nature near Serra da Estrela, central Portugal