Come and Help a Danish/Italian family on the magical island, Bornholm Denmark

Country

Denmark

updated  

Favourited 146 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Danish/Italian with two toddlers, Vento e Albarosa, "early" birds (7.30am) easy to fall in love with.. We are travelling parents liking to meet people from our amazing planet. We like music, camping in the wild - running naked, sunshine, rocks, and to enjoy life and your story.... and ofcourse some good healthy food ;-)

    Bought an old carpenters house on a magical island, Bornholm! Have had the pleasures of amazing work-awayers helping a lot. Thank you Simone, Jodi, Gennaro, Hans and Victor, creator Paul and "heating up the basement" Daniel. Especially thanks to you Radoslav. You basically saved our ass ;-) Thank you Abu for sharing your energy and together we "forced tall fences" -next stop Istanbul ;-) Masa your sweet nature and careful touch with the brushes was a welcome guest.

    We together have done a lot in the garden and on the old house!
    ... last winter we went to Vietnam, where Alette did a program in Global Health, while kiddos and Carlo where hanging out around the pool ;-) Far away from reparing and house planning, Jibiii!... not knowing yet where this winter will take us.

    Alette needs you in the house IF you have a genuine interest in the concept of being a work away person!
    IF you can be a part of the house - family in a dedicated and respectful way.
    It is expected that you give a hand in the kitchen ex. with cleaning dishes and ofcourse tighting up after yourself :-)

    You are needed and velcome if you have experience/knowledge in the following tasks:

    - Helping with painting/light plastering the kitchen -walls and cupboars.
    - Helping painting different things.
    - Help with carpenter tasks/woodworks -cutting a frame for a window.
    - Cutting and fastend footpanels.
    - Constructiong a little glasshouse from recyckled windows (not before spring 2020).
    - Cleaning up old floor tiles in the basement.
    - Reaparing a brickstone wall outdoor.
    - Limestone paint the basement walls.
    - Diff. gardening work like; collecting sea weed for growing beds, spreading horse shit, laying a little stone path etc.

    We have never been up-cyckling an old house before, but realized that we have been able to develop new skills and managed a lot. With persistence and compassion!... in another reality we are dreaming about a tiny house, down grading, travel even more: and just beeeee :-)
    With love, Alette

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn Danish hi hi, English and Italian (Carlo also speaks spanish). To meditate in a very varied and beautiful nature. We live 3.5 km away from an amazing coast and the Baltic Sea. Here you can learn how it can be to be isolated, depending on your own skills, patience and quietness ;-) We have the view to a round church-the rumours are the templars where here.... defenately some of the magic you will catch at the oldest castle ruin of North Europe, Hammershus. Dive into your imagination and live the adventure among granite covered landscapes and the forest with the bisons. In summer the villages at the sea side vibrates like in the south. We grow even figs trees here :-) You will jump on the tramboline, go for a swim, driving through really beautiful landscapes and to the activities around the irland (right now an International Street performer festival). Aware that this island is condiscioned by the island life as both isolated and having tourist leaving. The last ones in September and for sure in October ;-)
    We share stories from our cultures, try learning to live in the moment and talk about the condicisions of the human kind ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    For now, 2019 we would need and appreciate you with your "handy and skilled hands" for some carpenter jobs, painting etc. Please read the excact description in the other section. When contacting please say what task you can do :-)
    Importante:..... We can not give you adress for cpr registration!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, Danish, Spanish, little German and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Big sunny room on first floor with a big nice bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    100 meter to the bus stop. We have bikes and a car. It's a summer holiday island with plenty of activities, sights, tourists and atmosphere. It's the most beautiful place in DK! Fantastic bicycle routes and along the route many free nice shelters for camping. From us there is 3.5 km down hill to the Baltic Sea with rocks and sand. We have 2 km to the waterfall from where there is a magical trekking route through the landscape once formed by the moving ice. We have a local supermarked 100 m away and street lights shotting down 11pm which leaves you with an absolutely quite night, uhmmm ....only to woke up from the singing birds in the wild cheerie trees.... See you :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 475672383657

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more