Support the work of the bilingual children's center in Hannover, Germany

  • Germany
  • Favourited 124 times
  • Last activity: 10/01/2023




  • Description


    Like children? Creative and into trying new things? Russian-, Polish- or Turkish-speaking? (even though its not urgently necessary).
    Support the work of the children` center in Hannover and learn all about German culture and intercultural work in the middle of Germany.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you like children and want to be a teacher (or enjoy working with them, or already worked as a teacher somewhere else), you will gain a lot of experience, communicating daily with our teachers. You will see, how the teaching programms are created, how we deal with individual difficulties, how the work with parents is built and how bilingual education works.
    We will also show you around, tell you all you would like to know about the culture, life, studies and work in Germany; we will help you to learn German language.
    There are plenty of things to explore around here - nature, architecture, cultural life. From Hanover you can travel around the whole Lower Saxony (even to the North Sea), walk through the beautiful little cities and even hike (or ski) in the Harz mountains.
    Public transport works well (trains, trams etc) - even though it always mean some additional costs. It's quite nice to bike in Hanover - time to time you could borrow our bike or skateboard.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are a little educational center for bilingual kids: those who live in Germany and have Russian, Polish or Turkish as second (or first) native language. Normally those kids can speak German fluently, but don't have many opportunities to practice their Russian. We are supporting the bilingual education helping our guests not to forget and even to improve their Russian skills while taking part in a big variety of interesting activities (workshops, camps, guided tours, theater plays etc).
    We don't get much support from the government (yet), so lots of things are done on a voluntarily basis: that means everyone whom you are going to meet in the center does tons of unpaid work: for everyone of us it's mostly a cool hobby.
    If you speak Russian, Polish or Turkish and want to gain some experience in teaching, you will help the teachers to prepare the materials for the classes, camps, celebrations, support the teachers while they're giving classes, if necessary (help children to solve their tasks) and play with kids. You can also organise a workshop or a little activity for kids yourself.
    Sometimes it will be necessary to help us a bit in the household - simple things like hoovering, washing the floor, taking care of our small garden and sorting out some documents.

    If you DO NOT SPEAK those languages, but would like to join us for a while, we are looking for people with some special skills:
    - someone with magic hands which are able to fix cupboards on the walls, hang lamps on the ceiling, build benches from wood etc.
    - someone who can nicely paint on the walls (check our pictures: if you could paint such a thing as we already have, welcome, lets continue this together!)
    - someone who is good at making pictures and videos: to help us gathering nice memories about all the classes

    If you don`t have any skills from the list above but still want to join, PM us - maybe we will figure out something together.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Slovak: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will stay in a separate room: sofa, table, plenty of books in different languages, balcony and good Internet-connection.

    The flat is in the nice calm district close to the main train station (10 mins away); there is a nice forest over the corner if you like jogging.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Welcome to the team: we are all very open-minded, willing to share, creating great atmosphere in the center and around. We also like to travel and will always share all the useful advices with you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet connection is very good and allowes also video-calls in a normal quality.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 586741758416

Feedback (3)



Come and help us with gardening and DIY projects in Strohkirchen, Germany
Help build a beautiful garden from a meadow in a very quiet village near Stuttgart, Germany