Join our small family and help us around the house and farm in Sarleinsbach, Austria

  • Austria
  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 29 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    We are a small family of three people (Christina, Christian and Emma) who lives on an extensive farm with the goal of self sustainability. We have chicken, donkeys, horses, meadows, forests and fishponds and maybe soon more animals.

    We try to do as much as possible by ourselves. That allows us to spend most of the time with the family. We both work at home. Baking bread, growing veggies, cutting wood, working around the house and farm… everything for our own consumption. The well brings water, the chicken lay eggs and the grass for the animals grows on the fields.
    We are very happy to be in that fortunate position :)

    Our lovely Emma (2021) is a little whirlwind. She is exploring and trying out everything. Most of the time she is running around naked … even when it’s cold outside!
    Christina (1989) is caring/loving/full time mum and loves gardening. In the last 2 years there was not much time left for the veggies. With the support of a workaway that hopefully changes :) She is a self-employed Yoga teacher currently on maternity leave.
    Christian (1984) is passionate dad and loves creating and building things. He is looking forward to have someone who helps f.e. with cutting wood, planting hedges or working around the house.

    We love to discover the world anew with Emma and want to show her how beautiful it can be to harvest homegrown onions or build a table from scratch, how enriching it can be to meet new people and cultures and work together on new projects or just work “together” by putting our values into practice. That’s why we are searching for your support at all levels – wherever help is needed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    …life close to nature…organic food…relaxation…take time for yourself…being spontaneous…follow your heart…
    We love good food and it’s important to us to sit together around the table. Time off should not be left behind – free your mind with a good movie, go for a walk, meet friends, sit around the fire or play games.
    We don’t want to live within the treadmills of the system, but try to produce most of our food or firewood by ourselves. So you may get a different perspective on farming/living here. Maybe that’s what you can benefit from.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Primarily we welcome help with everyday tasks like cooking, helping in the household or garden, feeding animals, cleaning the stables, cutting wood, planting hedges or doing tasks around the house…

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a spare room for you in our house. In this room, you find a sleeping couch, a place where you can put your cloths/things, a small desk, a TV and internet access (LAN - unfortunately WIFI is not very good in this room). (And a wardrobe where some of Emma's stuff is inside.) Bath, toilet, kitchen and the living room we use together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can enjoy the beauty of the hilly landscape, go hiking, climbing or swim in one of our fishponds or another bathing lake. In 45min driving distance there is a skiing resort (Hochficht) and a possibility for cross-country skiing (Schoeneben - Boehmerwald) if there is snow ;).
    The Musik-Kulturclub Lembach is close by, where Christina is an active member.
    Rohrbach in Oberoesterreich is the capital of our district and the closest city (10min by car) and it take you 45 min to Linz. Both cities are easily reachable by public transport.

    We are looking forward to welcoming you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 554992739648

Feedback (1)



Friendly, open-minded and flexible people welcome to help us at home in Mattsee, Austria
Help me in the household, in the garden and with my lovely 2 year old son, Austria