Join our family close to the lake of Neuchâtel, Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a family of three, with a 11 months baby. We are living in a village a few kilometers away from the lake of Neuchâtel and a 5 minutes drive from Yverdon-les-Bains, the nearest city. We have moved back in an old family house and have spent much time setting up a lab for our lactofermentation project. We try to initiate a nice network with the purpose to be able to grow our own vegetables for this project, think about alternative education for our child, share and grow both on a practical and spiritual level.

    Laurent: 43, swiss, fluent in French and English, can communicate in Spanish and German.
    Monica: 39, american, fluent in English and French.

    We love cooking, experimenting with foods. We love playing music, spending time in the woods. We love thinking out of the grid.

    Our project is a reflection of these aspirations. The vision is a whole united community ressourced project, in which we can grow as spiritual beings and make a living at the same time in the system we have not necessarily chosen to be part of.

    You would be sleeping in a room in the attic, experiencing the old school way of farm-village life. In fact, that room was used for workers back in the days (1940's). It is a nice room, and one of the project is to make it suitable for modern comfort with new insulation.

    We would share the bathroom and kitchen.

    There will be at least a dozen activities you would help us with, gardening to cooking. We would use our energies to initiate or optimize ongoing projects.

    This is an old house that has been kept with its oldstyle spirit. There is a sauna working with a rocket stove.
    The village is quiet busy, but also very accessible with public transportation and a good place to start for very diverse trips, treks in the Jura and so on. In less than five minutes, you are by a river and can walk along for miles, in some woods.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As Laurent is a swiss from this exact place, you would really see a swiss guy on his land in action. A good way to seize the swiss spirit. We would drive you to beautiful places and share our knowledge of this area.

    You would also learn the arts & crafts of lactofermentation on a bigger scale. Also, you would be able to partake in a multi-facets project and be able to work and think on all the different parameters involved. Be part of a start up project and all of its diverse activities.

    You would be also able to learn french if you fancy.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    As we are trying to settle with a little lactofermentation business, we find ourselves short of time for many things. The baby, who is the sweetest, needs a lot of our attention and we would appreciate to find someone who can help us keep up to date with everything that is going on in the house.

    We are looking for someone who is a good handyman (our first mission will be to insulate the attic room), who has interests in vegetable processing and who likes children.

    Mainly: Helping setting up the lab for our fermentation projects, renovating the room in the attic so it will become more friendly and welcoming all-year round. Babysitt the baby so Monica can find more time for her studies and relaxation. Help us with meals, tending the house, our professional garden (15km away). Helping us in the lab for our vegetable transformations.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am looking to speak more spanish. I can teach French and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The room is under the roof in the attic. It is about 20 squared meters, spacious. There is no running water.
    We have installed a compost toilet for use during the nights. Bathroom and living room will be shared. We have a sauna. We will provide food. We would try cooking meals together, but you would have full access to our fridge and dry storage room and a lot of kimchi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is really easy to move from the village with buses passing through until late at night. A bike will be at your disposal, so you would be very quickly in the woods. We enjoy it if you play music. We like our guest to feel at home and be independant at the same time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I am looking for someone who could help dynamise our internet database in order to create more interaction with our online shop. Preferably a French speaking person.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 917844357917