Eco-building, woodwork, gardening at a young and small community in the forest of Noord-Limburg, The Netherlands



Favourited 223 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Would you like to experience many different aspects of self-sufficiency and enjoy nature at the same time? We'd love your help with woodwork, building with natural or recycled materials and gardening. We are a young and small community living on a beautiful piece of land with a large garden, chickens, forest and tiny sheep. Currently, we do not gain commercial profit from the estate, while we do try to live off it for the most we can.

    We are Jeroen & Idris (6), Angelique & Sara (9) and Vera, three sweet cats, tiny sheep, bees and chickens. We love music, nature (of course) and food! Angelique teaches also Biology at the world School, initiate a schoolgarden and does homeschooling with Sara.

    Life at our place revolves mostly around the edible landscape. One of our priorities in taking care of our domain, is to affect the biological diversity positively. That's why we grow many different kinds of plants, some of which are very extraordinary. We are always searching for plants that make an interesting addition to the garden, or varieties that fit better in this biotope.
    As important as all the plants are of course the other bare necessities of life in temperate climates: buildings and heating! We love to build and we always have things to do. We build with natural and/or recycled materials, most of them harvested locally.

    All of us value our private time. So you will usually spend the evenings alone or, if there are other volunteers around, with them. Or of course your own friend/partner, if you come together!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you will be able to experience and participate in many aspects of ecological living: the building, the gardening, the living in general; baking bread, making yogurt, conserving the harvest...
    We have so many possibilities that for a large part of the time you will be able to find something to suit your interests, while of course we always need to do the day-to-day activities.
    Furthermore you will see a side of the Netherlands that is not often seen; a small town, (very very small) hills, no tulips, and one of the few places where wooden shoes are not a tourist prop: we wear them and we love them.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Examples of things involving the 'building and heating' -projects:
    - making an earthen floor
    - making a rocket-mass-heater
    - wattle and daub
    - cob building techniques
    - harvesting, adapt and store buildingwood from our own forest
    - chopping wood
    - working in the forest

    Examples of things to do in the garden:

    - sowing and nursing annual vegetables and herbs
    - sowing, growing and nursing perennial (forest) garden plants
    - harvesting the abundance of crops and conserve them
    - seedsaving and accompanying techniques
    - making compostpiles

    We'd like for you to bring valuable skills or at least a large amount of interest and enthousiasm! It is important to us that you are independent enough to work on your own and to enjoy yourself on the days off.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You would stay in a caravan or a tent. There is a livingroom + kitchen where you can hang out after work (called the 'finca'). In the kitchen you are equipped to make your own breakfast and dinner, we will provide you with the ingredients (vegetarian). The finca is used by the volunteers, sometimes airbnb-ers and if we host groups (which is rarely) they use it too.
    During the summer months we often rent out the caravan via airbnb. In the colder months (March, April, September, October) you will stay in the caravan. We are closed from November until February.

    There is a dry toilet, a rainwater shower and a normal warm shower available. We have no wifi available, but there is an internet cable available and a laptop. Instead of a continuous internet connection, we invite you to enjoy the connection with nature while you're here :)

    Lunch is mostly shared with us, in the house, and you are expected to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    Food will be provided for during the two non-working days as well. Food is organic, but not always vegetarian, since on rare occasions we eat one of our roosters or acquire cow’s meat from biologically dynamic farmers nearby. Of course we can still easily accommodate a vegetarian diet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have been hosting volunteers for 8 years now (via other volunteer websites, this is our first Workaway-year) so we are big fans of the whole volunteering-thing. We've had so many great experiences and view these exchanges as a way to travel the world while still being able to sleep in our own beds at night :D

    We love hosting families and are open to changing arrangements to make it work for everyone.

    There is a bicycle available for use, and there’s much exploring possible in the many forests in the neighbourhood. The nearest city is Nijmegen, at 20km with good bus connection, and the nearest town is at 3km.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do not have wi-fi but there is an ethernet-cable available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 346634558221