Help me with looking after my kids and assisting me with some renovations while exploring Whangarei, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 4 times
  • Last activity: 15 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Living fairly close to the beautiful Northland city Whangarei, my home is open to travellers who is exploring New Zealand for short term or long. I live with my autistic 6 year old and two couples on the property. I am originally from China and have settled down in New Zealand for 7 years. We have many cultures in our house, kiwis, dutch, asian all well mingled.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love go outing, walking, exploring, so we will be able to show you around. My family also has a yacht, and is possibly for you to experience a day sailing trip for you to see the city from different angle when condition suits.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Currently I am looking into renovating the back studio to create more living spaces. Working full time as well as looking after my kid, I am looking for help with general houseworks, maintaining the property, and a couple of hours per day babysitting (playing with child) so I can focus on my building project. I would like you to help me playing with kid and occasionally for help to pass me some materials, holding ladder for me, but mainly if you can help me with babysitting, so I can focus on building, that would be a great help to me. Total weekly hours will not be over 20 hours. No help in the weekends.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would be interested in sharing my language, my boy can share Maori if you are interested. We would love to learn a little of any other languages.

  • Accommodation


    We have a cabin that can sleep two on a bunk bed. Shower, bathroom and kitchen will be shared at the main house. Road parking is available. We have a dog so better you are not afraid of dogs. We are not vegetarian and you are welcome to join us for meals if you don't have special requirement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you don't have your transport, bus services are convenient in town taking you to all scenic spots. I can also help with transport when I'm not working. Whangerei Falls, Quarry Gardens, Hundertwasser Museum, Town Basin are some places close by. Northland beaches are the places you want to explore. Plenty of events around town every now and then.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fibre internet unlimited.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 319111279459



Help with projects on our beautiful lands and explore the luscious Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Help us in our property in a secluded & magical valley near Wānaka, New Zealand