Help us with some tasks around our property in sunny Dordogne, France.

Country

France

Favourited 184 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    169

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Stevie 60 & Yvie 61. We are both semi retired from the rat race, been there done that , got the Tee shirt, worked hard and played hard in our early days, loved looking smart, loved clubs and bars, soulful music and now after lots of travelling we are now enjoying rural life in a beautiful sunny part of south west France. we both enjoy music, history and art, cooking and the good life.
    We have just acquired a former wine growers property which requires lots of renovation work, it is surrounded by vinyards ( not ours) we will have builders in from time to time and it would be helpful at times to have an extra pair of hands to work either in the gardens or some general help in general maintainance/ basic construction etc. The house sits within the Montbazillac vinyard region just south of the beautiful city of Bergerac on the Dordogne river. The house looks over rolling countryside and is less than 5 minutes walk into the village of Pomport, 10 minutes drive into Bergerac or 15 minutes into the bastide town of Eymet.


    My partner and myself are from East London where we still have a property, previously to moving to France we were living in Cyprus where we had 2 shops, we love to travel and explore and would like to do North Africa and go back to Israel again which we love so much.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Possibly learn a bit of the French language and the way of life, or even the English way of life!. Even some new skills.
    My partner loves Brocantes or Vide Greniers (Boot/Flee markets and second hand stores) you will be more than welcome to tag along if there is room and you will be treated as a family member. We also like a cultural experience frequently like to drive around the countryside and villages and go for walks, also often do a picnic as well.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening and general maintenance, possibly painting, help with DIY etc, some trips with me in the van to the DIY store or with us to do some shopping, so some carrying may be involved.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own clean and comfortable bedroom with double bed, use of own bathroom. Daily meals will be offered and cold or hot drinks provided. In the evenings at home we often BBQ with a glass of wine or a cold beer and enjoy an outdoor lifestyle. Camping is also permitted in the gardens if you bring your own tent. Smoking is permitted outside of any buildings & be respectful to the countryside and dispose of you litter correctly using containers provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In our local village of Sigoules is a bread shop, supermarket/patisserie, 2 bars, restaurant, pharmacy and health centre, on your free time you can be dropped off in the village or you can Cycle as we have plenty of bikes, or we can drop you in the city of Bergerac with all its charm and history.

    Locally there is.
    Pomport beach and bar.
    Sigoules village
    Bergerac town with airport.
    Eymet medieval town.
    Monbazillac Chateau and vinyards.
    Saint Emillion town and vinyards.
    Bordeaux town and airports etc.

    We can pick people up from Bergerac Airport or the Train/bus station, some do car share(blablacar) which you can search on google, and we can pick up in a agreed location, if you bring your own transport, it can be kept out of the sun in a secure area of our property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of outdoor space for a camper under one of the huge trees for shade or even in in the garage.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 382349131324