updated   Last minute

Enjoy simple farm life in the beautiful village Blatuša and join our family :-) Croatia

  • Favourited 119 times
  • Last activity: 21 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    ***HOUSSITTING IN JULY***
    We are searching for houssitter/s for 3-4 days in July. Please only apply if you milked an animal before. Contact us for more info.

    We are a young family of four: Henrik 27, Lana 25, Frida 3 and Zora (8 months). After long time of traveling around Europe and a bit of south america we were searching for our place to settle down and finally found a piece of land and recently bought it. We want to turn into a beautiful place with a big garden, fruit forest, a lake, other small animals, lots of children and nice people around us.

    We are trying to find a good balance for a sustainable life in nature and raising children with everything they need. So our conditions are quite basic - We avoid producing waste as much as it’s possible.

    We offer three meals a day :) had vegan times, had vegetarian times, did fasting for quite some time, we did dumpster diving sometimes… about the food by itself we don‘t follow one strict way… we go more for what feels right. But you can say that in general we are trying to eat with consciousness and appreciation! The goal for us is to buy as little from shops as possible…This year we plan to eat mostly what we grow and forage by ourselves. We do have farm animals which are providing also dairy products and meat. Also Lanas parents have a big agricultural project where we sometimes get some nice food boosters ;)

    On extremely hot days we take rest and work a bit more on another day.

    Drug use is NOT encouraged. Except coffee ;). Please tell us if you are smoking.

    We are very happy to host families with small children in order to create a healthy social environment for both parents and children.

    Our everyday life we can‘t really describe with so little words, because things are sometimes changing and others are following to change, so if you are interested to help we better talk about what‘s right now going on here and what to expect :)

    Workaway was and is a great way to share! We learned so much trough this platform. A lot of people shared their skills, knowledge and interests. Everything for free, no conditions and with honesty. That‘s what its about for us.

    We will try to answer you as fast as possible ❤️

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    What we would like to offer you is the experience of living sustainable, conscious, healthy and close to nature.
    You can learn about gardening :)
    Henrik likes music and singing very much and open for any jam session :)
    We live close to an eco-village, so there is quite an international community here, a lot of nice people to meet.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a lot to do in the garden right now. Planting potatoes, strawberries, asparagus. Preparing garden beds, weeding, watering, sowing. Mulching the berries and lawn mowing.

    We are always around and sometimes able to work with you, but often busy with children, so we really appreciate if you can work independently and with responsibility.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In summer it’s definitely recommended to sleep under the sky :) You can bring your tent or get one from us. We also created a room in our house where you can sleep in if you prefer. Please tell us in your application what type of accommodation you need to feel comfortable :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lake not far from here and a water spring.
    We got ourselves 4 solid bikes if you like to explore the area, theres nice forest ways to discover.
    We are also willing to share our car for longer distances, but that’s something what we need to talk more before.
    Otherwise we are quite away from the cities, but that‘s actually the pro about this area ;).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a graveled parkside close to our house where our volunteers with campervans were happy.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    For sure… just fyi we have our chicken run around freely…

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 853787466361

Feedback (6)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)









Pet-Sit our dog Sir Chester in our beautiful home in Zagreb, Croatia
Experience simple living and creating with nature with us, Janja Gora, Croatia