Experience Alaska, help with horses and projects in our country lake home, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 118 times
  • Last activity: 01/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We live in a house on a lake in a small community called Nikiski. It is on the Kenai peninsula in Alaska. We have four horses, and I like to be out with the animals and enjoy our property. I like to go riding. It’s nice to have somebody to help with our animals, help groom the horses, & enjoy them. I’d also like someone who can cook for us, and do some light cleaning. Possible light yard work.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love cultural exchange! We have hosted High School exchange students three times. I’d love to help you with English, and teach you about American culture and even about specific Alaskan traditions.

  • Help

    Help

    The help that I would like is mostly with the horses, helping to keep them clean by grooming them, doing barn chores, helping to keep them fed and watered, and even just to spend time with them if I’m too busy working. We might ask for help with the dogs too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private bedroom, and a bathroom that is yours primarily, or maybe shared with one other person. We have a big beautiful yard and we live on a lake, so you would have lots of serenity and privacy and a peaceful place. It really is a private paradise here. I do need someone who can cook for us often. You can have use of the kitchen if you give me notice ahead of time. You’re always welcome to fix your own breakfast, lunch, or just make yourself at home in there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live out in the country, so it’s about 20 minutes to the nearest town that has a Walmart, McDonald’s etc. I go to town for errands and you’re welcome to go along and get what you need then, I can drop you off places or with friends etc. if you want to be completely independent you should plan to Rent or borrow a car. We are about five minutes from the beach, which is a beautiful place to go and enjoy Alaska‘s scenery. I really like driving to other little towns in the area, I would be happy to take you along so you can see some other parts of our culture and industry.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 296391185957

Feedback

Help with indoor painting and organic gardening in Utah, USA
Ranching and homesteading projects in the wild Rocky Mountains near Fort Collins, CO, USA