Help out on our steep mountain, organic, traditional family farm. In a beautiful village close to Geiranger, Norway

  • Norway
  • Favourited 1992 times
  • Last activity: 6 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We try to keep up a real traditional organic sheep farm in the steep western fjord landscape- 300 m over the fjord. Most work demands a lot of hands and kind will, and a lot of cooperation. So workawayers with passion for managing nature are wanted! We live in a little, beautiful village- and we stribe to cooperate with eachother and the rescourses around us, in a way. Martin is a timber man, Ingvild is a nature conservation manager, Olav Martinus (18)and Olina Elfrida (20) are still at school, but seldom at home, Jenny Justine(22)and Annemaja (24) are mostly abroad, sometimes at home. But very often we have nice workawayers in the house, two or three.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will hopefully learn more about how to deal with small farming in a Norwegian climate. We hope to have some good moments of conversation about managing the nature and rescourses locally and globally. Some workawayers have learnt how to fish, how to make a fire, how to feed the sheep, how to dry the wet grass, and how to make dinner for a whole bunch without a recipe😀and we have learnt a lot from workawayers!

  • Help


    You might work with the grass and hay, mostly by hand with traditional techniques. There is also much work with our farm buildings, both painting and cleaning. Or perhaps you want to look after the sheep? Or make food in a Norwegian kitchen? You might also help us being a good host for visitors.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have at time two houses for all of us living at the farm. You will have your own bedrooms with a bathroom, and eat together in the other house with all the family. The bedrooms are placed in the middle of the renovation area, so be prepared for some simple living :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a little, beautiful village close to Geiranger and the World heritage area "Western Norwegian Fjord Landscape".
    The village has 140 inhabitants, many of them cooperating with their small local businesses. Here you find fjords for kayaking and fishing, and mountain summer farm with a lot of goats.
    If you like mountain walking, or bathing in the cold sea, you find an eldorado here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 261567836416

Feedback (44)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)

Cabin by the lake needs upgrade inside and outside- Agder, Norway
Beautiful smallholding on the island of Engeløya, Norway