Marie_Welt

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/10/2018 - 19/10/2018

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello there, my name is Marie. I'm a 23-year-old German currently living in Ireland. When I first came here last winter after having finished my degree in social anthropology and geography, I immediately fell in love with this beautiful country. So I've returned to attend classes at college, but I'm just realizing it's not where I want to be at the moment. I prefer working together with like-minded, but culturally diverse people, learning languages, going outside and exploring nature... Learning from life rather than from being stuck in classrooms, if that makes any sense.

    After I had finished university in winter, I wanted to to be part of the 'real', non-scientific world again - try out different things, do internships and gain work experience. So I first accomplished an internship at a TV broadcast station and made short documentaries, then I worked for a NGO that organizes international volunteer camps. I did administrational work in the office, but also led a camp in the South of Germany for three weeks and participated in an international seminar training about sustainability in Austria.

    I love meeting new people, learning about their culture and sharing interesting conversations, life stories, cooking skills and good music. In my studies I've dealed a lot with the term "culture" in general, but I was always missing the practical part of learning. I don't want to learn just from books, I also want to learn from people. Since finishing school five years ago I've travelled a lot, every time returning home realising it was the people I met on my way who made my journey incredible, and not the countries themselves.

    I'm eager to share everything I know and learn everything you know. I tried out many different things and would consider myself a quick learner. In Hamburg I've worked at a musical and in a library, in Australia I've worked on a sweet-potato-farm and in a cafe, I gained experience from working in a car factory, did a lot of painting and gardening, and I once even worked in a small Belgian chocolate factory, which brings me to the point: I love chocolate! And I really enjoy all other parts of cooking and baking, so I'm sure we'll have some nice and yummy meals exchanging our recipes... When I led the volunteer camp, I used to cook for the group as well, but, to be honest, I still need experience in calculating the right amount of rice.

    But I've also got other interests apart from that: I love being outside in nature (I grew up on the countryside), photography, hiking, restoring my old VW bus, bouldering, listening to and trying to make music - especially with my guitar, books, movies and good tea. Furthermore I'm really into languages - I speak German and English, learnt a bit French and Spanish, know a little Chinese, but definitely failed when I tried to learn Arabic. But still, I think it's always the best way when you try to talk to people in their language while travelling. Which means there are a lot more languages to learn!

    I'm very open-minded, self-reliant, honest, polite and empathetic, always trying to make people smile and help wherever I can ;-)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I've tried out a lot of different things: farm work, TV, camp leading, cafe, car factory, library, office work, student tuition, musical... so I'm open for anything I can help you with! I don't mind getting my hands dirty working outside - actually, that would be great ;-)
    I've got a positive attitude, can easily adapt and I'm eager to learn new skills.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, French (basics), Spanish (basics), Chinese (basics)

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback