Experience life on a farm, stay in a lovely cabin by a lake in Braskereidfoss, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 551 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    170

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ---COVID UPDATE---
    Borders are more or less closed for this type of interactions workaway offer at the moment, but there possible with more opening of this soon. If you currently reside within Norway it is no problem👍
    ---COVID UPDATE---

    Hello,
    we are a family on a sheep farm in eastern Norway, close to the Swedish border. As we live in a designated area for wolf, bear,lynx and wolverine, there is a bit effort to co-exist and safeguarding sheeps behind fences on the fields close to house. Beside sheep and wolf, there is also chickens (fresh breakfast eggs) , dog, cat and a parrot here.

    In this area there is possible with hiking in the deep "finnish" forest and bicycling on endless gravel roads. We also live a few meters from a lake where you can fish and swim. We also have a sauna by the lake.

    Accommodation is in a off-grid timber "lake cabin". It has a firewood stove, double bed, some furniture and a basic lavatory in the shed. Access to all other facilities about 200 meters away in main-house.

    We love to have wwoof guests, but seems alot of people has attended workaway. We enjoy learning from each other, culture exchange, and fulfil some shared goals in daily-life as a nice experience.

    Preferably one workawayer in winter time, or one or two workawayer summertime, that are interested in farm-life, nature and having a nice and meaningful time with ability to complete projects is wanted. Will it be you?

    A few expectations:
    - all volunteers must know English on an intermediate or above level so it is possible to communicate.
    -Interest in farmlife/nature/wildlife comes in handy when doing a farmstay.
    -use of house, cabin and stuff in a tidy and careful way.
    -we go sleep relatively early, and wake up relatively early.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn farming culture and a Norwegian way of living an in an area full of nature and fresh air :)

  • Help

    Help

    The projects are many, but revolves around farmlife and general upkeep of the area, buildings and stuff. We adapt this to skills. Carpenter/builder experience is highly interesting, but four hands instead of two is really enough.

    For example: firewood for winter, care for sheep, fencing, stone clearing, mechanics, DIY projects, designing the look of rooms, clean/tidy, organize,carpenter build, paint, help with fields, lambing season, landscaping, gardening, cooking, pick berries, fishing etc etc.

    The projects follow seasons and weather-conditions. Spring, summer and autumn is the busiest and is in essence about preparing for winter. (Winter is coming!)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Norwegian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In an off-grid timber Lake-cabin. Main house is 200 meters away.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We often use WhatsApp/signal for faster communication if agreed to host. We can also send a welcome letter with additional info before you come.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you are a digital nomad. We can set you up an office space in the farm workshop.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can host caravan. Possible to park beside the cabin. But no electricity possible there.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 255262638911