Join us in developing a small farm into a communty space in Innlandet, Norway

  • Favourited 209 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a small family with me and two kids at ages 4 and 9 living on a farm just 30 min drive from Lillhammer, Hamar and Gjøvik (three major cities in Innlandet county). This is a place where you can both enjoy the peace and quiet at our farm and explore cities and nature.

    I work partly from home with yoga for womens health, moon ceremonies, womens circles, pregnancy and birth support and online courses. And partly out of the house in an office job.

    Staying with us will help you calm down, connect with nature and find back to yourself. I take pride in great coffee and Matcha lattes and we will enjoy this together in the sun listening to birds singing.

    Whenever you fancy some more city life you can go to one of the cities just 30 min drive away (catch a ride with me or take bus/train).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with us means that you’ll get to experience developing a farm into something new and exciting. My short term goal is maintaining buildings and our home, creating a good environment to live in and growing food. Long term I want to have a community/retreat center here where people can relax, learn and come back to themselves. This is the second season and there is so much we don’t know yet and need to explore. And you will be a part of this!

    We are used to having people of other nationalities and cultures visit and staying with us. Also we enjoy sharing about our culture and answer questions you have. Including the more fundamental ones, not just the touristy joyful ones.

    I can help you get around in the area by taking you with me when I drive to places and also let you off at the train station near by when I can fit it into my schedule. So far this has worked out very well with previous workawayers.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Extra help with the household. This includes preparing healthy meals from scratch, cleaning, organizing, taking care of indoor space and prepare our tinyhouse for guests (we rent it out on bnb). Baking sour dough bread (I can teach you), fermenting vegetables, cooking broth. We are a meat eating family that also enjoy vegetarian food.

    APRIL
    We prepare for painting the house this summer. Start building a herb spiral. And depending on how fast the snow melts we will start making hugel beds and pallets to grow food in. I also have some indoor painting projects that needs to be done.

    MAY
    If the weather allows it we will paint the whole house. I use linseed oil paint. So it’s natural paint and interesting skill to learn if you’re into old fashioned rehabilitation. Linseed oil is without plastic which most commercial paints contains nowadays.

    JUNE
    Finishing off painting project from May if needed. Getting serious about garden and growing vegetables in hugel beds and in pallets. I am interested in permaculture and want to build these principles into the garden and outdoor area. Starting to establish outdoor areas for cozy summer days.

    JULY
    Working outdoors with garden growing vegetables. Starting to harvest berries and making jam and jelly.

    AUGUST
    Harvesting, preserving and tending the garden. Mushroom season starts and I have a few types that I pick in the forest nearby.

    SEPTEMBER
    Picking wild berries, mushrooms, preparing garden for next season and tending the plants and veggies that still grows.

    GENERAL INFO
    If you have skills with developing self sufficiency at a farm, herbal medicine, are a carpenter or love to cook please tell me and we can adjust to fit your interest.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay at the farm in your own room. In this room you have a double bed. My oldest son goes through this room to get to his, so it isn’t 100% private. If you want you can also stay out in the forest by our farm.

    When you stay with us you will count as part of our family. This means you are included in the activities we plan, that you’re welcome to join in and that we hope to get to know you and enjoy spending time together. It is up to you to choose what you’d like to join in on and we keep the communication open to make this a good experience for all.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Depending on the time of year there are great opportunities for skiing (cross country and downhill), hiking, swimming in fresh water and finding places where you can be completely alone in nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have starlink Internet

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's room for parking at our farm.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 4-5 hours a day per person, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 877117729546

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Come and help us out around our home and garden while enjoying mountainous hikes around Løfallstrand, Norway
Forest gardening and animal rescue in Øygarden, Norway