Yurt building with us in the mountains in Luadas, central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a Portuguese-Belgian couple living in the mountains of central Portugal. Susana is a woodworking artist and tutor, I was a teacher in an agricultural school, but now my focus is on the project here. Currently we are living in a yurt at our friend's farm. Here we have a big communal vegetable garden from which we eat year round veggies. We've just bought a piece of land next to the farm and we've started the construction of a two floor yurt platform. We're in a region were many volunteers come in the summer, so there's many people to meet from everywhere in the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This place is full of people with alternative ideas about building, gardening etc. Many people come here from all around the world to meet people, to have interesting experiences or just to enjoy the calm and beautiful nature.

    There's some nice things to see around here, like the waterfalls of Fraga da Pena, Piodao and a little further the Serra da Estrela. Benfeita is 30 min walk, there's a natural swimmingpool. In the village here (10min walk) there's a bar. In Coja and Arganil there's all kinds of accomodations (30 min drive).

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly help with the making the two floor yurt platform. So some technical skills are required. Also help in the vegetable garden and maybe some landclearing, stonewall building or other projects on the land.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There's a caravan at the disposal of the volunteer(s). Meals will mainly be together with us, some help with cooking and dishes is very welcome. We usually cook vegetarian.

    There will be 3 meals a day, cooking and eating together with the hosts.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 424762933231