Join our eco hostel project and explore Serra de Cipo, Brazil

Country

Brazil

updated  

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 27 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Leandro and since I was 7 years old, my dad took me camping in Serra do Cipó, and soon enought this became a very especial place for us. There are lots of nice memories that I have from the region and my dad, who had at first a small shop, then a restaurant and finally a bed and breakfast in a spot with a beautiful sight. Now it's been around one year since my dad is gone, and since, I've quit my job in Belo Horizonte and moved to Serra do Cipó, despite all difficulties faced during the pandemics. I'll be glad to show around Serra do Cipó to people who can help me and who are interested in discovering the local costumes. I'm vegan, LGBT, and enjoy meditation, Yoga and receiving my friends.
    I'm very easy going, I like to cook and to chat. Here in Minas Gerais we are known for being receptive and friendly, and I'm no exception. I enjoy presenting my culture and my State to people from everywhere. I've lived in the US, France and aboard a Cruise Ship, and when I was living in Belo Horizonte I've hosted exchange students from different places: Mexico, France and India. I hope to offer a good experience and that there is reciprocity in the relation. Searching for open minded, friendly and easy going volunteers. In this moment the local staff we have are myself and Bruno, who is responsible for preparing the breakfast and general management. We have received a few helpers here already, and all the experiences were very nice.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Serra do Cipó is an unique place. Besides having lots of Natural richnesses like waterfalls and caves, it has a bright local life to be discovered. The volunteers and I live together and we share experiences in our free time, like hiking and rock climbing or just being around the house. I would be wiling to teach and present some of my own personal interests and abilities, which envolve Meditation, Reiki and Xamanism. I could also teach Portuguese and French.
    Here volunteers from different places and platforms get together to experience a routine that envolves vegan-vegetarian food, Yoga, meditation, and care for nature. We had over 35 volunteers the last year and so far it's been incredible. It's important to remark that we look for people who are willing to participate in this project and routine.

  • Help

    Help

    The routine here involves housekeeping, maintaining the garden and the pool, receptioning guests and online publicity, but I also have many projects, decoration, arts and crafts, sustainability and tourism.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to teach or be taught any languages. It would also be great for me to practice the ones I speak

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one of the rooms in the Bed and Breakfast which we're not renting in the moment, and in the house where I live, there are 3 large rooms. All are suites and have either a ceiling fan or air conditioning. Some rooms have TV, and people may or not be placed in a shared room, though I always try to place people in individual rooms. I'm a vegan and for the volunteers that may be interested, I'd love to cook together and share food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a lot of waterfalls and small trips that volunteers can visit, and in the house I also like watching movies and cooking together. For those who are interested, I apply Reiki. In order to get to Serra do Cipó you will probably have to get first to Belo Horizonte, and then get a bus to here (around 100km). I also have an appartment in Belo Horizonte, and during the free time, I can present the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wi-fi connection in here is pretty good, I've received digital nomads before. It is important that you can conciliate with the chores around here, tough

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I've got a dog called Gautama, he is very friendly, tough he doesn't adapt to any cats and may have problems with other dogs around his age.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 695582786852