Help at a small-holding near the beautiful town of Ostuni, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 693 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    68  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English couple living 3km outside Ostuni in Puglia, Southern Italy. We have a "trullo" villa nearby that we let to holiday makers, and our own house where there's always work to be done...

    We have a three dogs, four cats, seven+ goats, three+ pigs, ducks, chickens and bees. There are 5 acres of land at each property, with a total of 270 olive trees as well as other fruit and nut trees. We maintain the land organically and have many eco projects underway.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are practically self-sufficient with the food and energy that we produce. Cathy will be happy to talk food with you, and Keith self-sufficiency and energy projects. Depending on the season, cheese-making or sausage making could be in progress.

  • Help

    Help

    The work that we are doing depends on the season and weather, and whichever project is at the top of the list!

    There are always the animals and veggies to look after.

    Constant activities include harvesting (walnuts, olives, fruit, almonds), weeding, pruning, strimming / weed-whacking, processing wood for the fire and for mulching.

    We also spend a lot of time maintaining and improving our home, a centuries old stone house. This may include painting, cleaning and small building works.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very comfortable double bedroom and own bathroom with stone vaulted ceilings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your days off we're happy to run you to the train station in Ostuni where you can take trains to Lecce, Brindisi, Bari, Monopoli etc. You can walk to the beautiful town of Ostuni in about 30 minutes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We like to work hard and play hard. Please ask about hours if it is important to you.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








































Host ref number: 18838664234b