Lauren

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello! Thank you for reading my profile. I'm a friendly, respectful, calm, dependable and fun-loving single woman, and this is my second experience activating my Workaway profile. In 2017 I traveled to different continents and enjoyed connecting through Workaway, and especially my first farmstay experience. Now living in Western Asia, along the Arabian Gulf, I’m ready for new opportunities to explore regions and help contribute to the growth and through in addition to my work as a professional and personal archivist, loves traveling, cooking, storytelling, and meeting new people. As I travel from the US to Australia to Europe andI seek opportunities to meet new people while contributing to local/community projects. I'm interested in using my skills to help you, while learning new skills along the way.

    I've recently left my 15-year career as a professional archivist working in both corporate and nonprofit spheres. I'm slowing things down, and giving myself a sort-of mid-career gap year. Workaway has intrigued me for awhile, and I'd love to apply the experience and skills I've developed so far in life, with meeting and helping individuals and families abroad, as an interesting cultural exchange.

    In the past decade, I've traveled to a variety of countries including China and Taiwan, Japan, Australia, and Turkey. As a home guest, you can count on me to be tidy, friendly, responsible, and independent. As a workawayer, I promise to focus and commit to the job, small or big. I appreciate any opportunity to meet new people and learn about different ways of living, in a mutually helpful way.

    I'm new to Workaway; however, I'm not new to staying in a cooperative household, working in gardens/farms, traveling away from home, or participating in the "sharing economy."

  • Interests

    Nature
    Team sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    History
    Self development
    Events & social

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Being an elderly companion
    DIY and building projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a certified archivist, with professional experience working for organizations but also specializing in personal digital archives and home organizing. I am also a TEFL certified English instructor and tutor. I love cooking; gardening/farm help; I'm an experienced pet sitter; I enjoy meditation and self-care; and have over two decades of experience in child care, which includes multiple first aid/CPR trainings.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I’m a certified TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) teacher, and seeking the opportunity for a language exchange :)

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    45

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    In selecting me as your workawayer, you will be rewarded with an early-rising, hard-working, smiling and low-maintenance guest! Anything else that you would like to know, please ask! Many thanks again and I look forward to making meaningful connections.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Wheat/Bread/Gluten intolerance, no pork

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback