Help this couple and experience the beauty of nature in this area, Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 169 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/04/2021

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Well it has been 2 years since we had a workaway guest because of the pandemic. Now that many of us are getting the vaccination we hope that the workaway travellers will begin coming again. If you like the countryside and being outside then we invite you to come to our part of Ontario.We are friendly and easy going and love to have guests here to get to know and of course to help us.
    Our guests have already helped us clear 16Km of trails through the property, it was a lot of hard work but good outdoor exercise. We still have more trails to clear and look forward to continuing in 2021.We also cut wood for firewood from the dead and fallen trees throughout the property, as well as mill wood for use in construction projects.
    I am a retired, English/Canadian 69 and live with my wife 52 who is Chinese from Beijing, and we are Christians I live on a 350 acre (180Ha) property about 2 hours drive North East of Toronto. We believe in maintaining the forest and river in it's natural state so that it can be enjoyed in the future. To do this we keep the trails from getting overgrown. The property is set in the Canadian shield which is a mixture of light forest, dense forest, and open bush. The property has various species of trees with some fields and open areas, springs and unusual flat limestone areas. There are several Km of trails and a 100m wide isolated river suitable for swimming, fishing and boating. The purpose of the property is basically recreational, for myself, family and visitors. The environment is in it's natural state and is full of interesting types of fauna, and wildlife. It is a very tranquil and peaceful place located only 5 minutes from the local village. We spend a lot of time outdoors around campfires and being out in the fresh clean air.
    Good Luck and safe journeys to all the travelers.
    Michael and Tracy


    PS. if you have any questions about Canada, or if you want to be a guest here this year please contact us anytime, thank you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We encourage and facilitate at mealtimes a vigorous discussion on pretty well any topic. We want to learn more about our guests cultural backgrounds, their homelands and also open-up our way of life to them.

  • Help

    Help

    I am interested in getting help with outdoor projects such as clearing trails which have overgrown, building projects, like decks or sheds, and maintaining the property. In return we will take care of you and provide your food, accommodation, recreation, and English or Mandarin lessons.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in the main house, and guests will stay in a three bedroom mobile home which is fully furnished with living room kitchen and 2 bathrooms. There is a washing machine, dryer, satellite TV, microwave, stove, electric blankets, and internet. The home overlooks a large field and has a covered deck with a BBQ. It is about 100m from the main house and about 300M from the river. Sometimes we may use a small self contained cottage if necessary, or other similar accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sitting in a very pristine and virgin piece of land and on a lovely river this property is also close to many large lakes for boating and fishing. We are 2 hours to Toronto and Ottawa and a few more hours drive to Niagara falls, Quebec City and Montreal. You will enjoy Canada's unique and wonderful outdoors. The river is particularly interesting because of it's privacy and clean water, and it is very suitable for swimming, canoeing, and fishing. Further down the river is a special place of shallow water and small rapids suitable for exploring. We are close to the must see 1000 Islands area on the beautiful St Lawrence river, Lake Ontario, and Fort Henry at Kingston.
    The two nearest cities are Belleville and Peterborough.
    You can get here to Marmora where we live directly by Greyhound buses from Toronto or Ottawa.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any kind of travel van, tenting, or motorhome is welcome. We have some excellent sites that are away from everybody and very very peaceful.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days per week
























Host ref number: 371699542587