Rainforest Retreat where we plan to grow food and live more sustainably, with less, Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a mature couple of former academics (he: Architecture / Urban Design, she: Social Sciences), who have left the city to pursue our dream of a slower, quieter life, more connected to nature. We've moved to a one acre property in Cornwallis in the beautiful Waitakere Ranges, about 40 minutes from the Auckland CBD and 15 minutes from Titirangi village. We plan to grow food, and live more sustainably, with less.

    The property is a mix of bush and cleared land, about an 8 minute walk to a lovely swimming beach. It's quiet and peaceful with amazing birdlife. There is a small house and two cabins (one is for sleeping and one we use as an office).

    We moved here in January and there's lots to do! We are looking for people to help around the property eg clearing vegetation, pruning, planting vegetable gardens, etc. If you have gardening and/or building/DIY skills that would be great. Tasks are negotiable according to skill, experience, and personal preference. We have a cabin in the orchard with a double bed, chair, drawers, heater etc.. It's completely private up there. You would have to come down to the house for meals and bathroom facilities. Would suit a single person or a couple. We have unlimited wifi and a spa pool! We also have a little dog called Suzi who is pretty adorable (not that we're biased!). From Cornwallis you can easily explore the beautiful wild West Coast beaches of Piha, Karekare and Whātipu as well as the walking tracks of the Waitākere Ranges. Please note: some of the tracks are closed to let trees heal from Kauri Dieback, but they are slowly being reopened.

    We're looking for mature people with "green" values who appreciate quiet and the beauty of the natural world. We're thinking one or two weeks would work well. On a daily basis, we propose that guests help us with tasks for about 4 hours in the morning and have the rest of the day/evening free to do whatever. We provide accommodation (including linen, towels), meals, power and wifi. The nearest shops are in Titirangi (about 15 minutes drive), with a supermarket, cafes, an art gallery, library, post office. There is a dairy in Woodlands Park which is about 10 mins away or the Huia Store (a cafe) is 5 mins drive. Helpers are welcome to borrow our car though ideally you'd have your own car as you'd need a car to get here in the first place!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both academics: he architecture and urban design, she social sciences. Happy to help with English. Can also provide climate change education. Visitors love the many bush walks and stunning beaches in the Waitakere Ranges

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help managing the property eg planting vege gardens, weeding, clearing bush, pruning fruit trees and so on. If you have gardening or building or DIY skills, that would be perfect. We provide a cabin in the orchard with a comfortable double bed, storage and wifi. Our idea is that our helper would do about 4 hours work in the morning and then they're free to do whatever they like in the afternoons and evenings.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Serbo-Croatian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bed in a cabin in the orchard. Completely separate from main house and private. Helpers will join us for meals in the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport to Cornwallis so a car is recommended.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A small-medium van would be fine

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 148555854316