Busy, active family of 6, urgently looking for some childcare 26th August to 14th September! Luxembourg.

Country

Luxembourg

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    222

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy, active family of 6, living in a lovely house on the edge of a forest with views across a valley, in a village 20 minutes north of Luxembourg city.
    We have 4 children in 2 different school systems, so they have summer holidays which do not match. Luxembourg is a very multi-cultural place and the children are required to learn several languages at school. As a purely English speaking household, this can be quite challenging for them. We would love to find someone French or German speaking, to come and help our children become more confident in their languages by hanging out with them, cooking, swimming.....generally having a good time whilst speaking a different language. However we would also welcome anyone who enjoys the company of children even without the languages, as I am currently a bit stuck for childcare help on the days that I work!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Luxembourg is a beautiful country and really is at the crossroads of Europe. It is very multi-cultural and travellers would certainly have that experience, living with a British family in a Luxembourgish village. We are happy to show travellers around, share ideas of where to visit and introduce them to some local cuisine.
    Luxembourg has very beautiful forests and we literally have one in our back garden, so there are miles of walking/biking trails accessible from our back door.

  • Help

    Help

    Our 11 year old twins would love some help with their French or German. We are looking for fluent speakers in these languages but you don't have to be a native speaker. It is most important that you are good with kids and know how to engage with them and have fun with them, whilst using any opportunities you can to teach/revise their languages with them.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a newly decorated spare bedroom, with a double bed. There is a shower room next door which would be shared with our 11 year old twins. There is a good wifi and mobile phone signal.
    Workawayers would be welcome to eat with us in the evenings, and could help themselves to breakfast and lunch.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 20 minutes by car from the centre of Luxembourg city, and there are plenty of buses. We are also within easy reach of a station. Public transport in Luxembourg is good so it is possible to get all around the country.
    We have had au pairs living with us for the past 6 years, so are very used to having other people in our house.
    We expect people to be tidy and considerate. We have a dog who loves everyone and is non-shedding, so meant to be non-allergenic.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or 2.5 full days and other days free

Picnic and bike ride in the forest
In the forest with a rather muddy Daisy the dog
The twins are big Harry Potter fans
Our house on the edge of the forest
Harry has just out-grown his parents!
Tom and Susie
I don't know where this photo came from as it is not mine and I cannot delete it!!

Host ref number: 137926669188