1 / 3

Help out with our garden and horses at our beautiful quinta in the algarve countryside, Portugal

  • Favourited 512 times
  • Last activity: 5 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We live in a beautiful quinta in the algarve countryside, with about 4 acres of gardens and paddocks, and a pool. We have 3 dogs of our own, and sometimes a few friends dogs in the garden. I have 3 beautiful gentle horses, who I ride often. I am 59 and English, and my husband is 75 and Irish. My goodness, that sounds old and we are NOT old, although since my husband was diagnosed with Parkinson’s, he has slowed down considerably

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about gardening, fencing, cleaning the pool, animal care, driving sit on mower, the quad or the range Rover, maintenance of a large property with many olive, carob, fig, almond trees.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an English speaking couple, To help with cutting back our garden, ( being able to handle a chain saw would be very helpful) and occasionally helping to look after the animals. You don’t have to be a horse rider, but you need to not be afraid of horses! There is often painting or woodwork to be done, or repairing stone work or fencing. A love of the outdoors and animals is a must ! You must be able to look after yourselves in the kitchen as we are often not around at mealtimes.
    I would love you to help me with my french speaking if possible!
    Please check my availability calendar. I do not have time to reply to people if I am not looking for help. Please respect this…. I try to be polite in replying to everyone, but it takes too long if I already have Workaways here.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a self contained annex available, with queen size bedroom, lounge, bathroom and kitchen, Wi fi and English TV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the countryside, an oasis of calm, but only 10 minutes to the village , Guia, which has many bars and restaurants, shops and a post office. A jeep or a scooter is available for you to use occasionally, as are bikes. We have a lovely pool, and the beaches are 15 mins drive away, or a 40 minute cycle. You must be confident and self sufficient, and happy to cook for yourselves. Sometimes I will cook for everyone, I love it, and used to be a chef!
    You may ride the horses if you have previous experience, when there is a horse available. ( I have 5 ladies who ride with me. )
    I run a small kennels and cattery, but the workaways are not expected to help in any way in this venture.
    We love a long term stay…. We have made friends for life with many previous workawayers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fibre internet, speeds 70gb and up.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for your camper van, and your own apartment in the House for your use.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If they are well behaved. Cats not a good idea because of the dogs here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Depends on length of stay, usually 4 hours/day, 5 days/week maximum

Host ref number: 119919623519

Feedback (11)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Share our lifestyle and learn helping in the garden in Folgosinho, Portugal
Help at a vegan animal sanctuary in Palmela, Portugal