updated  

Come visit our urban farm close to the centre of Fremantle, Australia

  • Favourited 141 times
  • Last activity: 18 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    ---------------------------------------
    We don't have a position until September!
    ---------------------------------------

    Our home is an urban farm with chickens, goats, compost and fruit trees, plus a large shared veggie patch.
    Our home is a community, with six independent houses, and lots of people to meet.
    Our home is a demonstration sustainable house.
    Our home is a community hub, with regular cups of tea, tours, workshops, films and other community events.

    Why not come and stay with us?

    Your hosts Shani and Tim will be happy to meet you. (We don’t have any children.) We are especially willing to welcome you if you are interested in all things sustainable. Tim does all the building, landscaping and art work around the place, as well as playing music. Shani is in charge of the gardens and animals. Four other people live on the property - you'll meet them all!

    We also run sustainable education and sand sculpture businesses, but you will be helping at our private home, not the businesses.

    Please note that we do have a bee hive but the bees are usually very passive.

    You will need to be fully vaccinated for Covid19 to come and stay with us. We prefer people who are over 25.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We encourage our guests to be a part of our lives. There are many cups of tea, good conversation, interesting visitors and lots of activities to be part of. You will learn heaps about making your life more sustainable - from making your own toothpaste to planting seeds in the garden. You might even be lucky enough to be here when we have a workshop or tour. Please note this accommodation is not suitable for people who are wanting to settle and/or work in Fremantle - we are after visitors only.

    We are also willing to help you navigate your way around the amazing city of Fremantle - we love our town and know you will too!

  • Help

    Help

    You will be expected to make your own meals and keep your areas clean and tidy (food is NOT included) The help is in the morning from 6.30am - 8.30am in summer and 7am - 9am in winter, five days a week.

    This volunteer situation will not suit someone who is wanting to work off site. We are set up for travelers not people wanting to settle in Fremantle for a while.

    Skills we need include basic building tasks (rendering, painting, basic carpentry), gardening tasks, cleaning and preparing meals. Musicians and videographers are especially welcome. We can teach you how to milk a goat if you are interested. People over 25 are preferred. Sorry but if you need to work on a van or other vehicle this is not possible (the noise is an issue for our neighbours). Definitely NO SMOKERS!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation will be inside the main house in a large loft bedroom. This bedroom has a steep ladder/ staircase to it so you should feel comfy with ladders and heights. The bedroom has a queen sized bed, single bed/couch, chest of drawers and hanging space, and small table and chairs. You have your own kitchen and meals area, shared only occasionally by other community groups. You have your own bathroom in a shared laundry area. Food is NOT provided. There is no heating or cooling besides the passive solar measures and a pedestal fan. It can be hot in summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is a 30 minute stroll into Fremantle, and 15 minutes to the beach. There are shops 5 minutes walk away. Public transport is pretty good with buses and trains nearby. If you want to ride a bike we can usually provide one for you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlmited access and the connection is good.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    10 hours per week (food not provided) 6.30am - 8.30am in summer and 7-9 am in winter in summer 7am - 9am in winter

Host ref number: 562816597965

Feedback (8)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)











Gardening and help on our hobby farm in Koah, QLD, Australia
Help with gardening, painting and some other tasks in Cairns, Australia