Help at our family home surrounded by nature in High Vosges, France

updated
Country

France

Favourited 446 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    49  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    153

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We would like to keep traveling from our new home!
    After three years of cycling and volunteering from Strasbourg to New zealand, it's our turn to host travelers!
    We want to stay in contact with this feeling of "being on the road", to sharpen our gaze, to find out what's new in our daily routine.
    We love meeting new people, from the neighbours next door to the one coming from a far and unknown place.
    Settling in a house is our new adventure and we'd love to share it. We love the idea that other people can enjoy the place in accordance with their own intent or project and that we can all contribute to make this house a lively place.

    We are a family of four (two boys of 2 and 6 years old). We live in a farm type house in the Vosges, 10 min by car from the famous "route des crêtes". At 700 meters high, the place is surrounded by 5 hectares of forest, meadow and spring.

    We have great interests in volunteer simplicity, permaculture, zero waste, autonomy, less impact way of life... We're collecting informations, experimenting, trying our best, at our own rythm. We also have interest in mindfulness/meditation. We'd like to start a permaculture garden and be more self-sufficient (but we are still far from that...). And at the same time, we also work outside and we love our jobs. That's why we need help for all those projects.

    Christophe works for a caritative organisation. I (Estelle) am a mediator (Conflict Resolution with NonViolent Communication process) and we both ''home educate'' our children. They love to meet new people. They learn everywhere from everyone.

    Walks and cross country skiing paths start from our house. Few weeks a year there is plenty of snow just around the house. We are 20 minutes away from the Lac Blanc ski resort (open in January and February, sometimes December and March with a cold winter). In the summer we like climbing, walking, cycling and swimming at the Longemer Lake (20 minutes driving).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The kids and us love receiving visitors, sharing our daily life, knowledge, talks, stories, walks, and all types of activities.

    Please note that the house is quite isolated. So if you don't have a car, I reckon it's better if you love walks, and being in the nature. We can sometimes drive you the village or to Saint-Dié-des-Vosges, as we are going once a week. Christophe drives close to Strasbourg every 2 days so it could be an option if you want to visit this city and spend a night there.

    To visit the rest of the area, some of our guests sometimes hitch-hike.
    The ski resort of the Lac Blanc is 20 minutes away by car. There are bigger ski resort 30 to 40 minutes away (La Bresse, Gerardmer...). It's not as big as the Alpes but you can still have fun there. Those stations are open in January and February for sure, sometimes December and March, but that's not guaranteed. In the summer we like climbing, walking, cycling and swimming at the Longemer Lake (20 minutes driving). We're also 20 minutes away from the Alsacian WineRoad (Route des Vins) and the beautiful medieval village of Kaysersberg. We are also 10 minutes away from the Route of the Ridges of the Vosges mountains (Route des Crêtes).

  • Help

    Help

    ON PROGRESS IN OUR HOUSE AT THE MOMENT (UPDATE OF JANUARY 2019): we're looking for help to prepare, dig and protect holes for fruit trees. Then it's about cleaning and general maintenance around the house.

    We're working on a permaculture garden. For the last months we've been observing and making plans. We would love to start landscaping, digging, levelling, building mounds, and preparing the soil. And for spring 2019, start planting.
    Another project is inside the house: finishing a guest room, i.e. plastering, covering walls with natural lime, putting natural wool carpet, and some finitions.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english, montenegrin

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own separate bedroom and a bathroom next door (see pictures below), clean sheets and warm showers of course!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love cooking. We enjoy healthy but simple food (lots of vegetables, cereals, as much as possible local, organic and zero waste). I don't eat meat, but the boys do from time to time.
    There is Internet access.
    Children and families are welcome.
    We usually stay home in the morning and go out for walks or meeting other families and kids in afternoons.
    You are welcome to join us in our weekly activities.
    Our house is in upper Fraize. The nearest train station is 20-25 minutes away in Saint-Dié-des-Vosges.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week, and some help for doing dishes and cleaning after lunch and diner time everyday




























Host ref number: 597536764444