Help out in the Canadian Rockies, British Columbia

Country

Canada

Favourited 236 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a middle-aged couple (cabinet maker/carpenter & nurse) in the process of transforming a former, rural police station into a small enterprise (guesthouse, candle making and wood crafts).
    The two sides for guest accommodation and vacation rental are now completed. Our candle-making studio is still waiting for completion.
    Then there are some landscaping projects on the agenda for this year, namely building a pathway to the lower floor of our own home and a retaining structure for the back yard sitting area. Our little greenhouse would appreciate some revamping, and there’s always yard- and garden work to do.
    We chose the Robson Valley for its location, natural beauty, work, family relations and friendly people. The young but mighty Fraser River meanders between the Rocky- and Cariboo Mountain ranges, nurturing soil and soul.
    Farmers, artists, travelers, and outdoor-enthusiasts are drawn to this area alike.
    If you are looking for a Canadian small town experience then stop by. Bring your smile and your skills and help us for a few days or weeks. Casey, our energetic Blue Heeler is always keen to play and to take you for a hike.
    Our work is such that we may not both be home every day. Therefore we appreciate if you are willing to share some of the cooking and housekeeping duties at times.
    We offer a quiet environment, a room with private bathroom and shared meals under one roof and German or English speaking as per your preference. WiFi available.
    You may google McBride/Robson Valley/Mount Robson Provincial Park/Jasper National Park for more info.
    McBride can be reached by public transportation (BC Bus North & ViaRail). The closest airport is in Prince George, 200km west of McBride.
    We hope to hear from you and wish you happy and safe travels.
    Susanna and Andreas

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Share the experience of 1st line immigrants to Canada establishing self-employment and hired work status. Experience small-town/rural life.

  • Help

    Help

    Landscaping, garden work, basic housekeeping, various construction/renovation work including carpentry, electrical, plumbing.
    During the winter months we are mostly looking for volunteers with carpentry and other reno skills. We would be happy to share the cooking duties at times.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english/german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private bed room(s) and bath room, shared kitchen

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Valemount, 90 km away, can be reached by public transportation (BC Bus North or ViaRail). Pick-up from the closest airport (in Prince George, 200km west of McBride) can be arranged.
    This is a small community offering the basics, including a library, pub, a bar and various community sports activities. Night life consists of wildlife watching and other outdoor adventures, spending time with family and friends, BBQing, playing cards, watching a movie and so on.
    We have two mountain bikes to use.
    We have wireless internet access.
    We speak as much English as you are comfortable with and lessons can be organized or offered by Susanna.
    We offer room and board and emphasize healthy cooking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5/day, 25/week




Host ref number: 173664666569