Surround yourself with spectacular ocean and mountain views on Saanich Peninsula on Vancouver Island, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 1700 times
  • Last activity: 26 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    We love to host people from all over the world and share travel stories. Our 13 acre hobby farm is located in the heart of Saanich Peninsula. Come and enjoy the beauty and tranquility of our little piece of paradise!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers will experience a unique Canadian culture,much different from the rest of Cold Canada.Have opportunities to visit not only the most beautiful city on this planet...VICTORIA...,but also surrounding areas.Learn about farm life.We enjoy having NEW guests,also have hosted Intern.students in last 15 years enjoying INTER CULTURE exchange both in foods and a customs.We would include our Workaway guests into our activities as much as they are willing.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    As we are already in the WINTER season we are looking for a ONE person OR a couple .In this moment we are looking for a ONE Female helper starting now!!!!! Please, reply as soon as you are able , and do not forget to tell us a little more on your traveling plans in Canada./Where you are in present time and length for how long you would like to stay on our FARM in Saanich Peninsula

    IF you are a MALE and have some trade/like a carpenter, landscaper or anything else, please share with us your questions and your experiences. If you are a FEMALE ,please tell us a little about your work experiences in your field, because part on your DAILY FARM work will be to work outside / AND sometime your hands will get dirty/ around our property/like weeding, usual work around the house, gardens and of course our animals.Our little dog Sami also will get her walk with you. Thank you in advance for your consideration.

    We would like to host volunteers, (maximum of double-occupancy at least 3-4 weeks stay, with an option to extend their stay up to........ Volunteering hours are 5 hours per day/Monday - Friday/ in return for meals, in your fully furnished own cabin
    and other benefits- such a free WIFI, bikes and fantastic environment on Unique Saanich Peninsula.

    We would like our helpers to come on MONDAY/ if possible/,so we have a time to WELCOME them to become familiar with our set-up on our Hobby Farm. The SATURDAY is usually check-out time at noon. Sometime depend on Helpers situation. We try to be flexible and understanding to everyone needs and we do not experience no problems.
    We both are Semi-retired, but we continuously working our property as much as we can.
    In this challenging times we still are looking for people who enjoy pleasant place, respecting the environment, being surrounded by forest, not far from a ocean and mountains ,have plenty of initiative and feeling, comfortable while being with the animals

    We - also would ask you the most important questions! Are you been vaccinated?? Please provide us with your information's. Thank you in advance.

    AND with hope we will be for you a GOOD FIT!!! up the manure

    The specific tasks vary depending on the season. For example, we harvest our blueberries in July and August, and our orchard and vineyard in September/Harvesting and preserving. Other tasks throughout the year as I mention before: are some animal care, from time to time fixing the fences around animals shelters and the pastures. Keeping the garden areas cleared from brush. and in the fall raking the leaves and pruning the fruit trees, Our orchard has 12 fruit trees.
    Various help in the house especially when the weather is very rainy and cold/, general property maintenance, like , chopping and stacking fire wood, cleaning small forest, weeding veggies boxes and the flower gardens , collecting daily our 7 Alpacas manure. We also would like to know if you do have some specific trade /like carpentry, landscaping experiences, cook, baker OR Whatever/ what will benefit our daily Farm task, please let us know. We very much appreciate all information you can provide in advance your coming.

    See you soon

    Marta and Peter


  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers have deluxe accommodations in a private self-contained CABIN with amazing ocean and mountain views. The COZY CABIN is located on the farm in open pastures among our sheep grazing, with lambs in the early spring adding to your enjoyment. Included is a fully equipped kitchen/with patio/ 3 piece bathroom, storage area, separate sleeping quarters with bunk beds, all linens are provided except TOWELS and we like the cabin to be left in clean condition AFTER YOUR DEPARTURE We ONLY take a ONE person or the COUPLE during the seasons.

    Enjoy a spectacular sunrise from the kitchen each morning with your first cup of coffee.Our volunteers will do a laundry outside of our Farm in Public Laundromat/it is 5 minutes from our home/We have 2 bikes for your use. Just bring yours lock for the bike you will be using.
    In the Summertime we have to be careful of our water consumptions and the the helpers WILL BE asked to take short showers and other saving techniques for day to day!
    We can provide the appropriate cloth and a footwear for those working during the rainy season here/DEC-FEB/

    Breakfast and lunches you will be preparing yourself in the cabin with the food supply provided by your host family;
    We itemize exactly what food we supply during your stay. The list of food is inside the pantry in the kitchen .NO exchanges on grocery. The dinners Monday-Friday are made in our kitchen with your help on the side. However, we are unable to accommodate Vegan/Vegetarian, since we have different diet in our home.Thank you for your understanding in advance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located in Saanichton, B.C., 20 km north of downtown Victoria. Public transit BUS #️72 will take you to downtown Victoria in about 35 minutes. We do have bikes available to our volunteers. The Saanich Peninsula consists of small communities including, small town of Sidney BY the SEA,, North Saanich & Central Saanich, Bentwood Bay and Deep Cove. The Victoria Airport, BC Ferry Terminal and the Institute of Ocean Sciences are all located within the Saanich Peninsula. We do have a maps for all about mentions area for our volunteers available.

    Vancouver Island hosts a variety of activities and attractions, such as Whale-watching, Canada's oldest Chinatown, the B.C. legislature and the Fairmont Empress Hotel, Victoria's magnificent Inner Harbor landmarks, salmon fishing charters, Sidney's Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre, the Butcher Gardens, and of course hiking, kayaking and biking Vancouver Island's 3,500 kilometres of ocean coastline, 700 lakes, 160 rivers and 890 streams. These waterways are located amid spectacular West Coast scenery and are shared by an abundance of marine creatures and wildlife.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week

Host ref number: 183343882552

Feedback (37)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.8)

Experience our animal paradise homestead in Halkirk, Canada
Help near the Yukon river , Canada