Come and help in the garden and house tasks in Victoria, BC, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 913 times
  • Last activity: 26 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    I am a Mindfulness instructor and English Teacher focusing on living a simpler and sustainable life. I have two grown daughters and many connections with different communities in Victoria. I enjoy hosting dinners and having friends visit. I am vegetarian but occasionally I enjoy some sustainable fish.

    Kai, our ‘human’ dog, is an important member of the family. He likes to accompany us in all adventures. In my free time I love to read and write and he also loves to cuttle while I read. We enjoy walking, cycling, hiking and kayaking with the ocean close by. We are very active in the outdoors and enjoy gardening, cooking and travelling.

    Hoping to make our backyard/garden a sanctuary.

    At the moment we can only host female guests or couples. Thank you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multicultural family with lots of experience traveling the world. We speak English and Portuguese fluently. Besides a daily meditation practice, we enjoy yoga at least three times a week. Also, we like to go hiking, walking and cycling, often with friends and neighbours. In the summer we also do some kayaking. We have two exta bikes for guests to explore the area and travel around with ease. We love to cook and we are also open to trying new dishes from around the world. We have a tiny yoga/meditation studio in my backyard and a friendly dog who loves company.

  • Help


    We welcome help in the garden and with house organizing, painting and cleaning. We also appreciate people who have some experience and can work independently. At the moment we can use help with decluttering and gardening. We created a meditation labyrinth in the front yard and maintenance is ongoing. Simplifying is the main goal at the moment, so some skills in organizing would be a great asset.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Separate bedroom and shared bathroom
    Close to ocean and village shopping
    5 kms to downtown Victoria

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is located on the traditional territories of the Lkwungen speaking people: the Esquimalt , Songhees and W̱SÁNEĆ nations. We acknowledge their welcome and graciousness to our family to live here. We honour this land and the ancestors who cared for it. Andersen Hill is close by and was used for harvesting Camas. It offers a beautiful view of the Salish sea and the Olympic Mountains. We are committed to a path of truth and reconciliation.
    Oak Bay is one of the safest neighbourhoods in Canada. Our street is quiet and neighbors are friendly. Walking around Oak Bay can be quite magical and we are grateful to live in such a special place. Down town Victoria is only a 15 minute bike ride away. Our family welcomes guests to be part of our lives and exchange stories and experiences. We have been hosting workaway guests since 2013 and have had a wonderful experience, making friends from all over the world. Please, no smokers only. Thanks!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Negotiable (maximum 5hrs/day, 5 or - maximum 25 hours/week

Host ref number: 669241445338

Feedback (27)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with gardening and DIY on Gambier Island, BC, Canada
Help us with organic apple orchard and future cidery in Quebec, Canada