Volunteer on the Wild West Coast in Greymouth, New Zealand

Favourited 1123 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    105  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    23/02/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Explorer
Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi folks,
    We have a friendly, & relaxed backpacker in Greymouth. The gateway to New Zealand's Wild West Coast! Our backpackers is a beautiful old building, ex-monastery 100m from middle of town with a nice big garden with hammocks, fireplace and BBQ area. We also have a resident dog called Cosmo and a cat called Jessie.
    All the hostel rooms are animal themed.

    We are looking for enthusiastic people who are willing to learn and be part of a team.

    Urgently need someone for:
    24th February for 2 weeks.
    26th February for 18 days.
    28th February for 14 days
    Also a couple of people who are good at handyman stuff for the month of March.

    We enjoy having people come and stay as this gives us the opportunity to learn all about your different cultures. We find this very enriching. Particularly learning about where people come from and their way of life, language and food preferences. Similarly, it is a good opportunity for you to learn from us as New Zealanders. We are described as a "home away from home" by many of our visitors. Some come back for a second or third stay! Good fun all round.

    The help is 2-3 hours a day. Mainly household tasks such as cleaning, vacuuming. We offer accommodation, free use of washing machine, bikes and fishing rods. Also unlimited internet. If you help for 3 hours we also offer, breakfast, and free use of spa. Also a meal once a week. You will need to have a NZ work visa.

    If you're interested, we are looking forward to hear from you.

    We are also looking for people with handy-man skills.
    We hope to hear from you soon.
    Cheers
    Harry and Lynda

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Helping around the hostel for 3 hours a day for accommodation, breakfast, unlimited internet, use of laundry, bikes fishing rods & spa. We also provide a pizza night once a week. Tasks could be helping with cleaning and laundry in the hostel, gardening, helping with maintenance in and around the hostel etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the hostel in a dorm room with views over the city. You can also enjoy watching the setting sun on the West facing balcony outside your room, Plus, you have the convenience of being closely located to the showers. Bests dorm room in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    FREE: walking tracks, West Coast Wilderness Cycle Trail, driftwood & gemstone hunting on the beach, fishing, biking , sunday market, ...
    more Activities: museum & art gallery, jade shop, quad biking, rafting, kayak tours. Discounted tourist attractions. e.g. 10% discount for Monteiths Brewery Tour, food and beverage. cinema, and Wild West Adventures.
    If you have a car or want to share a rental care; you can enjoy half day trips to Punakaiki (aka Pancake Rocks), Lake Brunner, Paparoa National Park, Hokitika Gorge, Treetop walk, glowworm cave, .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a very social hostel. You will have an opportunity to meet people from many different nations. To learn about their customs and culture and food preferences etc. We enjoy being an international community.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album






































































Host ref number: 12831654284a